Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. Three Cavalier seniors and head coach Julie Myers have been voted winners of’s second annual Fan Awards. Senior Megan O’Malley was voted the Best Senior Attacker, while classmate Claire Bordley was honored as the Best Senior Defender. Goalkeeper Kendall McBrearty was selected as the Best Senior Goalkeeper and Myers was voted the Coach of the Year. designed the awards to acknowledge excellence and achievement in the world of Division I men’s and women’s lacrosse. The Senior of the Year award was designed to recognize the best senior player at each position, with three seniors nominated for each. Three freshmen were nominated for Rookie of the Year and three coaches for the Coach of the Year award.

Bordley was the anchor of Virginia’s defense this season and recently earned all-region honors. The senior was named All-ACC and to the ACC’s All-Tournament Team after helping shut down Duke and Maryland’s attack in the second half of the semifinals and finals of the conference tournament. Bordley is the Cavaliers’ top match-up defender and helped lead Virginia to a third-place national ranking in scoring defense.

McBrearty has been honored as the top goalie in the region and the ACC this season. The two-time MVP of the ACC Tournament led the league in GAA and save percentage all season, in addition to being ranked third and sixth nationally in the categories, respectively. She was an All-ACC selection this season and was voted the team’s MVP.

O’Malley, Virginia’s top offensive midfielder, scored the game-winning goal in the Cavaliers’ 10-9 win over Duke in the semifinals of the ACC Tournament, en route to a third-straight ACC Championship for Virginia. She was also named to the 2008 ACC All-Tournament Team for her accomplishments.

Myers had a milestone year this season. She led Virginia to its 400th program victory and its first undefeated regular season at home since 1996. She also collected her 100th win in Charlottesville, in just 124 tries, and became just the fourth coach to reach the 200-win plateau. Myers is currently among the top-three winningest coaches in Division I.

The Cavaliers closed out the 2008 campaign with a 14-4 overall record and their third-straight ACC Championship.

2008 LaxPower Women’s Fan Awards Winners
Best Senior Attack

Megan O’Malley – Virginia

Best Senior Midfield
Kelly Kasper Maryland

Best Senior Defense
Claire Bordley Virginia

Best Senior Goalie
Kendall McBrearty Virginia

Best Senior Draw Controls
Dana Dobbie Maryland

Rookie of the Year
Meg Decker Navy

Coach of the Year
Julie Myers – Virginia

Print Friendly Version