Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA Seven Cavaliers were named to the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association All-American teams announced this past weekend at the NCAA Championships. Duke led the way with nine selections, followed by national champion Syracuse with eight.

Sophomore defenseman Ken Clausen earned first-team All-American honors for the first time this season. He is the youngest defenseman named to the first-team since Syracuse’s Pat McCabe was a first-teamer as a sophomore in 1989. Clausen led the team with 59 ground balls this season, fifth in the nation among close defensemen. He is also the only sophomore on either of the first two teams.

Senior attackman Ben Rubeor and junior attackman Danny Glading were named to the second team.

Rubeor missed the first three games of the season, but still led the team with 38 goals this season. One of five finalists for the Tewaaraton Trophy as the player of the year, Rubeor finished his career ranked fifth in UVa history with 136 goals and sixth in total points (212). This is the third year in a row Rubeor was named to the first or second team.

Glading moves up to the second team this season after being a third-team selection last season. He was Virginia’s leading scorer this season with 65 points and ranked 14th nationally in points per game (3.61). Glading also ranked sixth in the country in assists, averaging 1.74 per game.

Midfielder Brian Carroll made a big move as a sophomore this season and was named to the third team, the only sophomore middie on any of the top-three teams. He scored 28 goals this spring, tied for fifth most in the country by a midfielder. A threat on the extra-man unit, he notched 14 EMO goals this season. Carroll also tallied nine assists to finish with 37 total points.

Junior attackman Garrett Billings, senior midfielder Peter Lamade and junior longstick midfielder Mike Timms earned honorable mention recognition.

Billings received All-American status for the first time. He was second on the team in goals (36), assists (25) and total points (61).

Lamade used his final year of eligibility at UVa this season after graduating from Duke last season. This season he led the team’s midfielders with 19 assists, while adding eight goals. He finished his career as one of five midfielders in ACC history to score 50 goals and add 50 assists in a career; he was a second-team All-American in 2005 at Duke.

Timms is an honorable mention choice for the second year in a row. He snared 48 ground balls this season, 11th most in the country among longstick midfielders. He is one of five LSMs named to the All-America team this season.

The complete team is listed below.

First Team
Attack: Matt Danowski (Duke), Zack Greer (Duke), Mike Leveille (Syracuse)
Midfield: Steven Brooks (Syracuse), Nick O’Hara (Duke), Paul Rabil (Johns Hopkins), Max Seibald (Cornell)
Defense: Ken Clausen (Virginia), Dan Cocoziello (Princeton), Jerry Lambe (Georgetown)
Goalkeeper: Joey Kemp (Notre Dame)

Second Team
Attack: Kevin Buchanan (Ohio State), Danny Glading (Virginia), Ben Rubeor (Virginia)
Midfield: Ned Crotty (Duke), John Glynn (Cornell), Terry Kimener (UMBC), Stephen Peyser (Johns Hopkins)
Defense: Joe Cinosky (Maryland), Jordan DiNola (Navy), Tony McDevitt (Duke)
Goalkeeper: Jordan Burke (Brown)

Third Team
Attack: Brandon Corp (Colgate), Kevin Huntley (Johns Hopkins), Max Quinzani (Duke)
Midfield: Matt Abbott (Syracuse), Brian Carroll (Virginia), Ben Hunt (North Carolina), Matt Lalli (Colgate), Brad Ross (Duke)
Defense: Matt Bocklet (Johns Hopkins), Sean Dougherty (Notre Dame), Michael Evans (Johns Hopkins)
Goalkeeper: Adam Fullerton (Army), Dan Loftus (Duke)

Honorable Mention
Attack: Garrett Billings, Virginia; 
Brendan Cannon, Georgetown; 
Joel Dalgarno, Ohio State; Curtis Dickson, Delaware; 
Ryan Hoff, Notre Dame
; Ryan Hurley, Cornell; 
Shane Koppens, Loyola; 
Jamie Lincoln, Denver; 
Jordan McBride, Stony Brook; 
Nick Mirabito, Navy; 
Kenny Nims, Syracuse; 
Ryan Smith, UMBC; 
Ari Sussman, Dartmouth; 
Daryl Veltman, Hobart; 
Austin Winter, Bucknell.

Midfield: Danny Brennan, Syracuse; 
Barney Ehrmann, Georgetown; 
Dan Hardy, Syracuse; 
Adam Jones, Canisius; 
Mark Kovler, Princeton; 
Peter Lamade, Virginia; 
Jordan Levine, Albany; 
Anthony Muscarella, Hofstra; 
Justin Pennington, Rutgers; 
Michael Podgajny, Notre Dame; 
Peet Poillon, Ohio State; 
Jeff Reynolds, Maryland; 
Mike Timms, Virginia; 
Nick Tintle, North Carolina.

Defense: Bobby Atwell, UMBC; 
Brian Farrell, Maryland; 
Kyle Guadagnolo, Syracuse; 
Ben Johnston, Providence; 
Tim Kaiser, North Carolina
; Parker McKee, Duke; 
Matt Moyer, Cornell; 
Sid Smith, Syracuse.

Goalkeeper: Drew Adams, Penn State; 
Bruce Bickford, Drexel; 
Jeremy Blevins, UMBC; 
Alex Hewitt, Princeton; 
Stefan Schroder, Ohio State; 
Grant Zimmerman, North Carolina.

Print Friendly Version