Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE – Virginia women’s basketball recently announced its 2009 postseason awards at a private banquet celebrating its season. Sharing the team’s Cavalier of the Year Award were seniors Lyndra Littles and Aisha Mohammed, as well as junior Monica Wright.

Wright also earned MVP In Practice, the Leadership Award, Best Defensive Player and Most Assists, in addition to receiving the Alumni Scholarship for next year as the Cavalier who best exemplifies the spirit and dedication that makes Virginia women’s basketball successful.

Wright and Littles shared the team’s Best Offensive Player Award, while Littles also won the award for the highest free throw percentage. Mohammed, meanwhile, took home the team’s Rebounding Award.

Chelsea Shine was named the Rookie of the Year and garnered the Preseason Conditioning Award, while Kelly Hartig was presented the Thomas J. Ryan Scholarship for next season as a hard-working player committed to success.

Hartig and senior Kristen London shared the award for Most Improved Player. London was also named Unsung Hero.

Jayna Hartig, earned the Bob Williams Award for outstanding athletic and academic performances.

Earning Coaches’ Awards for outstanding contributions were Chris Easton, Natalie Fitzgerald, Kyle Gravitt, Johanna Kessler-Sandridge, Brenda Lambert, Paul Murata and Byron Smith.

Virginia finished the season with a 24-10 overall record and advanced to the second round of the NCAA Tournament.

2009 Virginia Women’s Basketball Awards
Cavaliers of the Year: Lyndra Littles, Aisha Mohammed, Monica Wright
Best Offensive Players: Lyndra Littles, Monica Wright
Best Defensive Player: Monica Wright
Rookie of the Year: Chelsea Shine
Most Improved Players: Kelly Hartig, Kristen London
Leadership Award: Monica Wright
Unsung Hero: Kristen London
Preseason Conditioning Award: Chelsea Shine
MVP In Practice: Monica Wright
Highest Free Throw Percentage: Lyndra Littles
Rebounding Award: Aisha Mohammed
Most Assists: Monica Wright
Bob Williams Award: Jayna Hartig
Alumni Scholarship: Monica Wright
Thomas J. Ryan Scholarship: Kelly Hartig
Coaches’ Awards: Chris Easton, Natalie Fitzgerald, Kyle Gravitt, Johanna Kessler-Sandridge, Brenda Lambert, Paul Murata, Byron Smith

Print Friendly Version