Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE – The Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) recently announced its Division I all-region award winners and Virginia had four rowers earn honors. Desiree Burns, Amanda Chase and Jennifer Cromwell were named to the first team all-south region, while Augusta Stratos was named to the second team.

Nominated student-athletes are evaluated on the strength of their team’s regional finish, coaches’ recommendations and 2,0000-meter erg score. Nominees must be eligible student-athletes who have competed in their team’s varsity boat in 75 percent of races this season.

These athletes will be eligible for All-America awards selection following the NCAA Rowing Championships. The NCAA regatta will be held May 29-31 on the Cooper River in Cherry Hill, N.J.

Virginia is currently ranked No. 4 by the CRCA and won the overall team title at the South/Central Regional Championships. The Varsity Eight, Second Varsity Eight and Novice Eight had victories in their respective grand finals at that regatta.

Burns, a junior from Poughkeepsie, N.Y., rowed with the Varsity Eight that was the regional champion. It is her first regional honor.

Chase, a co-captain, hails from Woodbridge, Va. She was named to the All-ACC team following Virginia’s second-place finish at the conference championships and rowed with the Varsity Eight that won the South/Central Region.

Cromwell, a junior out of Bellevue, Wash., stroked the Varsity Eight that won the South/Central Region. This is her second regional honor, as she was named to the first team last season in addition to being a first team All-American in 2008. In 2007, she was the ACC Rookie of the Year.

Stratos, a local product out of Charlottesville, Va., and a senior co-captain, rowed with the regional champion Varsity Eight. She was named an All-ACC selection this season and in 2008.

All-West Region First Team
Liene Bertasjus – University of Southern California
Adrienne Fritsch – Stanford University
Ame Hicks – Oregon State University
Lou Kinder – University of California, Berkeley
Jenny Kossowsky – Oregon State University
Jenna Levy, coxswain – Stanford University
Erica Lewis – Washington State University
Elle Logan – Stanford University
Adrienne Martelli – University of Washington
Iva Obradovic – University of California, Berkeley
Erika Roddy – Stanford University

All-West Region Second Team
Katie Humm – Oregon State University
Elena Humphreys – University of California, Berkeley
Grace Luczak – Stanford University
Kayleigh Mack – University of Washington
Katy Milton, coxswain – University of California, Berkeley
Lauren Nowinski – University of California, Berkeley
Anna Specjalska – University of Southern California

All-New England Region First Team
Cristina Caligiuri, coxswain – Brown University
Jeannette Daley – Boston University
Emily Dreissigacker – Dartmouth College
Tess Gerrand – Yale University
Laura Huppert – Harvard University, Radcliffe Crew
Esther Lofgren – Harvard University, Radcliffe Crew
Hannah Malvin – Brown University
Christina Person – Yale University
Jenessa Redfern – University of Rhode Island
Taylor Ritzel – Yale University
Jessica Stage – Brown University
Veronica Townsend – Northeastern University

All-New England Region Second Team
Olivia Coffey – Harvard University, Radcliffe Crew
Christine Glandorf – Yale University
Anna Kendrick – Harvard University, Radcliffe Crew
Eleanor Pascall – Dartmouth College
Hope Richardson – Brown University
Svenja Sanders – Northeastern University
Colleen Saville, coxswain – Northeastern University

All-Central Region First Team
Karen Colwell – University of Michigan
Laura Dunn, coxswain – University of Michigan
Ashley Kroll – University of Michigan
Adrienne Mecham – University of Michigan
Sarah Schmidt – Michigan State Univeristy
Emily Regan – Michigan State University
Theresa Shields – University of Wisconsin, Madison
Maggie Galloway – University of Wisconsin, Madison
Susanne Herbrand – Ohio State University
Jessica Novack – University of Iowa
Ashlee Vilmo – University of Minnesota

All-Central Region Second Team
Caitlin Trumble – University of Michigan
Amanda McGeachie, coxswain – Michigan State University
Laura Cowal – Michigan State University
Michelle Mussett – Michigan State University
Peta-Leigh Dakyns – Ohio State University
Kristin Kelly – University of Iowa
Jennifer Flannigan – Kansas State University
Ellie Benson – University of Indiana

All-Mid-Atlantic Region First Team
Debra Bateman – St. Joseph’s University
Erica Crump – Cornell University
Elizabeth Donald – University of Pennsylvania
Alison Fishman – Princeton University
Ariel Frost, coxswain – Princeton University
Annie Gayman – Princeton University
Sara Hendershot – Princeton University
Whitteny Henry – Bucknell University
Liz Henwood – Syracuse University
Page Kannor – Bucknell University
Meredith Mead – Columbia University
Kathryn Purdy – University of Pennsylvania

All-Mid-Atlantic Region Second Team
Regine Adrien – University of Delaware
Airlina Burrill – University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Rebecca Donald – University of Pennsylvania
Kelly Henkler – Bucknell University
Genevieve Joy – Columbia University
Natalie Mastracci – Syracuse University
Carol Schoenecker – Bucknell University
Lauren Wilkinson – Princeton University
Jeweliet Yost, coxswain – Bucknell University

All-South Region First Team
Desiree Burns – University of Virginia
Amanda Chase – University of Virginia
Jennifer Cromwell – University of Virginia

Brittany Cummings – Clemson University
Kristin Falovo – University of Louisville
Mallory Hamman – University of Louisville
Chelsey Lauzon – University of Central Florida
Jessica Leidecker – Clemson University
Jennifer VanderMaarel – University of Texas

All-South Region Second Team
Hillary Cumbest – Clemson University
Stefani Kozuszek – Clemson University
Megan McMullin – University of North Carolina
Liz Robinson – University of Central Florida
Rachael Sporko – University of Miami
Augusta Stratos – University of Virginia

Print Friendly Version