Story Links

LOS ANGELES – Virginia sophomore guard Sylven Landesberg (Flushing, N.Y.) was one of 50 players named as preseason candidates for the 2009-10 John R. Wooden Award All-American Team and Player of the Year trophy, the Wooden Award Committee announced Wednesday.

Last year, Landesberg led the Cavaliers in scoring (16.6 ppg) during his freshman campaign. He was the ACC Rookie of the Year and was a second-team Freshman All-America selection by and

Transfers, freshmen and medical redshirts are not eligible for the preseason list. These players and others who excel throughout the season will be evaluated and considered for December’s Midseason list and the official voting ballot released in March.

In late December, the Wooden Award Committee will release the Midseason Top 30 list, followed in March by the National Ballot, consisting of approximately 20 top players who have proven to their universities that they are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining a cumulative 2.0 GPA. The Wooden Award All-American Team will be announced the week of the “Elite Eight” round during the NCAA Tournament.

The 34th annual Wooden Award ceremony, which will include the announcement of the Men’s and Women’s Wooden Award winner, and the presentation of the Wooden Award All-American Teams and the Legends of Coaching Award, will take place the weekend of April 9-11, 2010.

2009-10 John R. Wooden Award Preseason Top 50 List

Name Height Class Position University
Solomon Alabi 7-1 So. C Florida State
Cole Aldrich 6-11 Jr. C Kansas
Al-Farouq Aminu 6-9 So. F Wake Forest
Luke Babbit 6-9 So. F Nevada
Talor Battle 5-11 Jr. G Penn State
Trevor Booker 6-7 Sr. F Clemson
Matt Bouldin 6-5 Sr. G Gonzaga
Craig Brackins 6-10 Jr. F Iowa State
Da’Sean Butler 6-7 Sr. F West Virginia
Sherron Collins 5-11 Sr. G Kansas
Ed Davis 6-10 So. F North Carolina
Devan Downey 5-9 Sr G South Carolina
Jerome Dyson 6-3 Sr. G Connecticut
Devin Ebanks 6-9 So. F West Virginia
Corey Fisher 6-1 Jr. G Villanova
Luke Harangody *# 6-8 Sr. F Notre Dame
Manny Harris 6-5 Jr. G Michigan
Gordon Hayward 6-8 So. G/F Butler
Jeremy Hazell 6-5 Jr. G Seton Hall
Robbie Hummel 6-8 Jr. F Purdue
Damion James 6-7 Sr. G/F Texas
Sylven Landesberg 6-6 So. G Virginia
Gani Lawal 6-9 Jr. F Georgia Tech
Kalin Lucas 6-0 Jr. G Michigan State
Tasmin Mitchell 6-7 Sr. F Louisiana State
Greg Monroe 6-11 So. C Georgetown
E’Twaun Moore 6-3 Jr. G Purdue
Raymar Morgan 6-8 Sr. F Michigan State
A.J. Ogilvy 6-11 Jr. C Vanderbilt
Patrick Patterson 6-9 Jr. F Kentucky
Jerome Randle 5-10 Sr. G California
Scottie Reynolds 6-2 Jr. G Villanova
Samardo Samuels 6-8 So. F Louisville
Larry Sanders 6-11 Jr. F VCU
Jon Scheyer 6-5 Sr. G Duke
DeShawn Sims 6-8 Sr. F Michigan
Kyle Singler 6-8 Jr. F Duke
Tyler Smith 6-7- Sr. G/F Tennessee
Isaiah Thomas 5-8 So. G Washington
Deon Thompson 6-8 Sr. F North Carolina
J.T. Tiller 6-3 Sr. G Missouri
Evan Turner 6-7 Jr. G/F Ohio State
Jarvis Varnado 6-9 Sr. F/C Mississippi State
Greivis Vasquez 6-6 Sr. G Maryland
Deonta Vaughn 6-1 Sr. G Cincinnati
Kemba Walker 6-1 So. G Connecticut
Willie Warren 6-4 So. G Oklahoma
Terrico White 6-5 So. G Mississippi
Nic Wise 5-10 Sr. G Arizona
Chris Wright 6-8 Jr. F Dayton

(Based on a preseason poll. Players listed alphabetically.)
*indicates 2009 Wooden All-American
# indicates 2008 Wooden All-American

Print Friendly Version