Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE – Men’s soccer sophomore Brian Ownby (Glen Allen, Va.) has been named one of 21 players that will represent the United States at the FIFA Under-20 World Cup from Sept. 24-Oct. 16 in Egypt.

The roster features a blend of professional and college players that will depart for Larnaca, Cyprus, on Sept. 14 and play a final tune-up against Australia before traveling to Suez, Egypt, on Sept. 21. The U.S. will open against Germany on Sept. 26 before facing Cameroon on Sept. 29 and rounding out group play against Korea Republic on Oct. 2. All three of the USA’s group matches will be played at the brand new Mubarak Stadium in Suez.

Ownby will compete for Virginia prior to his departure. Last season for the Cavaliers, Ownby tallied five goals and four assists en route to ACC All-Freshmen team honors. This past summer, Ownby competed with the U.S. Under-20 Men’s National Team that played two international games in Argentina.

Every game of the 2009 FIFA U-20 World Cup will be shown live on the ESPN family of networks with Galavision also broadcasting all three U.S. group games. The first U.S. game will be shown live on ESPN Classic, at 9:55 a.m. ET, while Galavision will also broadcast the game at 9:55 a.m. ET/PT. The remaining two group games for Rongen’s team will be shown live on ESPN2 and on tape delay on Galavision.

The Cavaliers kick-off the regular season with the Nike Portland Invitational this weekend, facing host Portland Friday night at 10 p.m. ET. On Sunday, Sept. 6, UVa faces Washington at 3 p.m. ET.

2009 U.S. FIFA U-20 World Cup Roster By Position:
GOALKEEPERS (3): Sean Johnson (Central Florida; Lilburn, Ga.), Josh Lambo (FC Dallas; Middleton, Wis.), Brian Perk (UCLA; Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif.)
DEFENDERS (6): Gale Agbossoumonde (Miami FC; Syracuse, N.Y.), Kyle Davies (FC Dallas; Danville, Calif.), Aaron Maund (Notre Dame; Dorchester, Mass.), Ike Opara (Wake Forest; Durham, N.C.), Anthony Wallace (FC Dallas; St. Petersburg, Fla.), Sheanon Williams (Unattached; Boston, Mass.)
(8): Danny Cruz (Houston Dynamo; Glendale, Ariz.), Mikkel Diskerud (Stabak; Oslo, Norway), Dilly Duka (Rutgers; Montville, N.J.), Jorge Flores (Chivas USA; Anaheim, Calif.), Jared Jeffrey (Club Brugge; Richardson, Texas), Brian Ownby (Virginia; Glen Allen, Va.), Dillon Powers (Notre Dame; Plano, Texas), Michael Stephens (UCLA; Naperville, Ill.)
FORWARDS (4): Sam Garza (Denver; Highland Village, Texas), Peri Marosevic (FC Dallas; Rockford, Ill.), Brek Shea (FC Dallas; College Station, Texas), Tony Taylor (Jacksonville; Jacksonville, Fla.)

Print Friendly Version