Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia field hockey players Paige Selenski, Inga Stöckel and Michelle Vittese were named to the 2009 All-Atlantic Coast Conference team, announced Wednesday by the league office.

Virginia’s three selections are the most since Lori Mastropietro, Meridith Thorpe and Michelle Vizzuso were named to the 1998 all-conference team.

It is the second honor for Selenski, who was also selected to the squad in 2008. It is the first honor for both Stöckel and Vittese; all three are sophomores for the Orange and Blue.

Selenski, a Shavertown, Pa., native, leads the Cavaliers with 22 goals this season, a mark that ranks third in the conference. Her six game-winning goals are tied for the most along with Maryland’s Emma Thomas. The 2008 ACC Freshman of the Year also has recorded two hat tricks this season and her seven assists are tied for the team lead.

Stöckel, who hails from Mulheim an de Ruhr, Germany, has five goals to go along with seven assists in her first season as a Cavalier. A playmaker in the midfield, Stöckel also has three game-winning goals and a defensive save this season.

Vittese, who was named to the preseason All-ACC squad along with Selenski in August, has contributed six goals and six assists in 2009. The Woodbury, N.J., native has two game-winners, both against ACC opponents, and also has converted both of her penalty stroke opportunities this season, including the game-winner over Wake Forest in overtime on Oct. 11.

Maryland’s Katie O’Donnell earned her third consecutive Offensive Player of the Year honor, while teammate Emma Thomas was named Defensive Player of the Year. Missy Meharg of Maryland was also selected as the Coach of the Year. The conference’s Freshman of the Year will be announced following play at the ACC Championship.

The third-ranked and third-seeded Cavaliers open the ACC Championship at 3:30 p.m. Thursday against sixth-seeded Duke. Fourth-seeded Wake Forest and fifth-seeded Boston College open the event at 1 p.m. at the University Hall Turf Field.

2009 All-ACC Field Hockey Team

Name Year Pos.
Chelsey Feole Sr. F Boston College
Lauren Miller ! Sr. B Duke
Amie Survilla Sr. F Duke
Nicole Muracco ! Sr. F Maryland
Katie O’Donnell # Jr. F Maryland
Alexis Pappas ! Sr. M Maryland
Emma Thomas Sr. B Maryland
Illse Davis # Sr. M North Carolina
Katelyn Falgowski # Jr. M North Carolina
Danielle Forword Sr. F North Carolina
Jackie Kintzer Jr. GK North Carolina
Kelsey Kolojejchick Fr. M North Carolina
Paige Selenski ! So. F Virginia
Inga Stöckel So. M Virginia
Michelle Vittese So. M Virginia
Aileen Davis ! Sr. M/B Wake Forest
Melissa Martin Sr. M Wake Forest
Raisa Schiller Sr. M/F Wake Forest

Offensive Player of the Year: Katie O’Donnell, Maryland
Defiensive Player of the Year: Emma Thomas, Maryland
Coach of the Year: Missy Meharg, Maryland

! – Two-time selection
# – Three-time selection

Print Friendly Version