Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Four Virginia student-athletes are among 40 individuals recognized by the Atlantic Coast Conference as recipients of postgraduate scholarships, as announced by commissioner John D. Swofford.

Men’s basketball player Jerome Meyinsse and swimmers Mei Christensen and Jenna Harris were among the 36 ACC student-athletes to earn the Weaver-James-Corrigan scholarships.

Women’s golfer Whitney Neuhauser is one of four honorary recipients as a student-athlete who plans to enter a professional career. Those four student-athletes will receive the Weaver-James-Corrigan Honorary Award.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan scholarship is awarded to selected student-athletes – three from each league institution – who intend to pursue a graduate degree following completion of their undergraduate requirements. Each recipient will receive $5,000 to contribute to their graduate education. Each recipient has performed with distinction in both the classroom and his/her respective sports, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.

In addition to those receiving scholarship funds, the four student-athletes who intend to compete professionally will be recognized for their outstanding academic and athletic performance.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan Award is named in honor of the late Jim Weaver and Bob James, as well as Gene Corrigan, all of whom are former ACC commissioners. The league’s first commissioner, James H. Weaver, served the conference from 1954-70 after a stint as the Director of Athletes at Wake Forest University. His early leadership and uncompromising integrity are largely responsible for the excellent reputation enjoyed by the ACC today.

Robert C. James, a former University of Maryland football player, was named commissioner in 1971 and served in that capacity for 16 years. During his tenure, the league continued to grow in stature and became recognized as a national leader in athletics and academics, winning 23 national championships and maintaining standards of excellence in the classroom.

Eugene F. Corrigan assumed his role as the third full-time commissioner on September 1, 1987, and served until August of 1997. During Corrigan’s tenure, ACC schools captured 30 NCAA championships and two national football titles.

Prior to 1994, the Weaver-James post-graduate scholarships were given as separate honors. The Jim Weaver Award, which originated in 1970, recognized exceptional achievement on the playing field and in the classroom, while the Bob James Award, established in 1987, also honored outstanding student-athletes.

The 40 student-athletes will be honored on April 14th, 2010, at the Koury Convention Center in Greensboro, N.C., at a luncheon hosted by the Nat Greene Kiwanis Club.

2010 Weaver-James-Corrigan Award Recipients
are as follows:
Boston College –
Steve Aponavicius (Football), Kelly Henderson (Soccer), Timothy Ritchie (Cross Country/Track & Field ). Clemson – Gregory Eckhardt (Soccer), Michelle Nance (Rowing), Katrina Obas (Swimming & Diving). Duke – Joshua Bienenfeld (Soccer), KayAnne Gummersall (Soccer), Lauren Miller (Field Hockey). Florida State – Terese Gober (Softball), Jordana Price (Volleyball), Carly Wynn* (Softball). Georgia Tech – Alana Clooten (Track & Field), Ryann Kopacka (Swimming & Diving), Amanda McDowell (Tennis). Maryland – Jennifer Collins (Lacrosse), Christina Nelson (Track & Field), Herbert Taylor (Wrestling). Miami – Genevieve Mayhew (Volleyball), Matthew Pipho* (Football) Laura Vallverdu (Tennis). North Carolina – William Dworsky (Soccer) Ashley Howard (Swimming & Diving), Anna Rodenbough (Soccer). NC State – Austin Hampton (Swimming & Diving), Romulo Manzano (Soccer), Allison Presnell (Softball). Virginia – Mei Christensen (Swimming & Diving), Jenna Harris (Swimming & Diving), Jerome Meyinsse (Basketball). Virginia Tech – Abby Barney (Swimming & Diving), Paul LaPenna (Cross Country/Track & Field), Matej Muza* (Track & Field). Wake Forest – Aleksandra Kulikova (Tennis), Allyson Sadow (Soccer), Zachary Schilawski (Soccer).

* denotes nominees selected for Thacker Scholarship.

Honorary Recipients are as follows:
Clemson –
Benjamin Martin (Golf). Duke – Max Quinzani (Lacrosse). Virginia – Whitney Neuhauser (Golf). Wake Forest – Brendan Gielow (Golf).

Print Friendly Version