Story Links

GREENSBORO, N.C.—Former Virginia standout guard Harold Deane will be honored on Saturday (March 13) as one of the 2010 Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Basketball Tournament Legends at the annual ACC Basketball Legends Brunch. Television personalities Tim Brant and Mike Hogewood host the brunch at the Sheraton Four Seasons Hotel at 10 a.m.

Deane was a four-year starter for the Cavaliers from 1994-97. He ranks ninth in school history with 1,763 career points, second in school history with 237 career three-point field goals, fifth in school history with 546 career made free throws, sixth in school history with 468 career assists and tied for fifth in school history with 179 career steals.

He helped lead the Cavaliers to three NCAA Tournament appearances during his career and a 73-50 overall record. Deane earned some kind of All-ACC recognition in each of his four seasons, being named second-team All-ACC in 1995 and 1996, earning third-team honors in 1997, and being named to the ACC All-Freshman team in 1994.

In 1995-96 Deane led the team in scoring at 16.7 points per game. He led the team in assists during his final three seasons and led the team in steals in all four years of his career. Deane was also a defensive standout during his career, being named the 1996-97 “Velcro Man” by ESPN commentator Dick Vitale as the top defensive player in the nation.

A native of Ettrick, Va., Deane currently resides in Petersburg, Va.

The 2010 ACC Tournament’s other legends include Terry Driscoll (Boston College), Dale Davis (Clemson), Jack Marin (Duke), Otto Petty (Florida State), Bruce Dalrymple (Georgia Tech), Keith Booth (Maryland), Will Allen (Miami), Sam Perkins (North Carolina), Rodney Monroe (NC State), Chris Smith (Virginia Tech) and Dave Wiedeman (Wake Forest).

Print Friendly Version