Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia senior guard Monica Wright has been named to the official John R. Wooden Award National ballot that decides the women’s 2010 Wooden Award All-American Team and Player of the Year, presented annually to the nation’s top collegiate female basketball player.

Wright was named an All-Region nominee for the 2010 State Farm Coaches’ All-America Team on Tuesday as well.

Wright was named the 2010 ACC Player of the Year and the ACC Defensive Player of the Year after leading the league in scoring (23.3 points per game) and steals (3.6 per game). Her seven 30-point games this year lead the conference.

Wright is Virginia’s all-time leading scorer with 2,506 points and counting. That total ranks third on the ACC’s all-time scoring list. This season she broke her own single-season scoring record (700 points). The previous record was set by Wright in 2008-09 (696 points).

She is also the school-record holder for field goals made (948), and ranks in the top five in school history for steals (366) and in the top 10 for rebounds (755). She second player in school history to register at least 2,000 points, 700 rebounds, 350 steals and 300 assists (Dawn Staley is the other).

The 34th annual Wooden Award ceremony, which will include the announcement of the Men’s and Women’s Wooden Award winner, and the presentation of the Legends of Coaching Award to Florida’s Billy Donovan, will take place on April 9, 2010.

A distinguished panel of voters, comprised of sports media members and college basketball experts from around the nation, have until 3 p.m. EST on Monday March 30 to cast their votes, a long voting period that allows voters to evaluate players up through games of the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Tournament. All players on the ballots have proven to their universities that they are making progress toward graduation and are maintaining a cumulative 2.0 GPA.

Women’s 2010 Wooden Award Ballot
Name Height Class Position University Conference
Jayne Appel 6-4 Sr. F/C Stanford Pac-10
Tina Charles 6-4 Sr. C Connecticut Big East
Alysha Clark 5-10 Sr. F Middle Tennessee Sun Belt
Elena Delle Donne 6-5 Fr. G/F Delaware CAA
Dawn Evans 5-7 Jr. G James Madison CAA
Kalana Greene 5-10 Sr. G Connecticut Big East
Kelsey Griffin 6-2 Sr. F Nebraska Big 12
Amber Harris 6-5 Jr. F Xavier Atlantic 10
Allison Hightower 5-10 Sr. G LSU SEC
Jantel Lavender 6-4 Jr. C Ohio State Big Ten
Gabriela Marginean 6-1 Sr. F Drexel CAA
Maya Moore $# 6-0 Jr. F Connecticut Big East
Nnemkadi Ogwumike 6-2 So. F Stanford Pac-10
Kayla Pedersen 6-4 Jr. F Stanford Pac-10
Ta’Shia Phillips 6-6 Jr. C Xavier Atlantic 10
Samantha Prahalis 5-7 So. G Ohio State Big Ten
Andrea Riley 5-5 Sr. G Oklahoma State Big 12
Danielle Robinson 5-9 Jr. G Oklahoma Big 12
Shekinna Stricklen 6-2 So. G/F Tennessee SEC
Jasmine Thomas 5-9 Jr. G Duke ACC
Courtney Vandersloot 5-8 Jr. G Gonzaga WCC
Monica Wright 5-11 Sr. G Virginia ACC
$ 2009 Wooden Award winner
# 2008 Wooden All American Team

Print Friendly Version