Story Links

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Virginia freshman Robby Andrews has been named the 2010 ACC Men’s Indoor Track and Field Freshman of the Year, as voted on by the league’s 12 head coaches and announced Friday by the conference office.

The Manalapan, N.J., native becomes the first Cavalier male to earn freshman of the year honors, but marks the second-straight year Virginia has had a newcomer tagged as an ACC Freshman of the Year. Sophomore Morgane Gay earned the honor for the women during the 2009 outdoor season.

Andrews was the only male ACC performer to win a national championship at the 2010 NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships last weekend at the University of Arkansas. Andrews claimed the NCAA title in the 800m, becoming Virginia’s second-ever individual national champion during the indoor season. Former All-American Paul Ereng did so in 1989, also winning the 800m.

Andrews also garnered ACC Championship titles in the 800m and as a member of the distance medley relay. He cruised through the prelims of the 800m at the conference meet, winning his heat and taking the top seed time of 1:50.65 into the finals, where he won the league crown in 1:50.73.

Virginia’s DMR team of sophomore All-American Sintayehu Taye, sophomore Kevin Anding, senior Alex Bowman and Andrews – running the anchor leg in 4:06.57 – earned top honors, finishing with a mark of 9:47.80.

Andrews completed his first indoor season for the Cavaliers undefeated in every race he toed the line for. He anchored the 4x800m relay to titles at the Millrose Games in Madison Square Garden and at the Hokie Invitational – where the quartet shattered Virginia Tech’s facility record with a time of 7:26.49. He won the open 800m at the Armory on Feb. 13 and the 600m at the Hokie Invitational, in addition to two ACC Championships and a national championship.

His season-best 800m time of 1:48.02 from his victory at the Armory stands as the third-fastest 800m mark of all-time at Virginia, and the top freshman time. He joined Ben Kurgat (’91), Ray Brown (‘82) and Ereng (’88, ’89) as the only Cavaliers to earn All-America honors in the 800m.

Andrews’ 2010 Indoor Season Honors
NCAA Champion in 800m
ACC Champion in 800m, DMR
All-American in 800m
ACC Freshman of the Year
All-ACC Performer in 800m, DMR
Millrose Games Champion in 4x800m

Print Friendly Version