Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE – Monica Wright was named to the 10-player U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) All-America team, the organization announced Wednesday (March 31).

She was joined on the USBWA All-America team by Jayne Appel (Stanford), Tina Charles (Connecticut), Alysha Clark (Middle Tennessee), Victoria Dunlap (Kentucky), Kelsey Griffin (Nebraska), Jantel Lavender (Ohio State), Maya Moore (Connecticut), Nnemkadi Ogwumike (Stanford) and Jasmine Thomas (Duke).

It is the first-career USBWA All-America honor for Wright. Dunlap, Griffin and Wright are the first players ever selected to the USBWA Women’s All-America Team from their respective schools since the association began naming a team during the 1996-97 season.

Wright (Woodbridge, Va.), a 5-11 senior guard for UVa, was also named an Associated Press first team All-America on Tuesday (March 30) and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) National Defensive Player of the Year on Monday (March 29).

She was the ACC Player of the Year and the ACC Defensive Player of the Year in 2009-10, and averaged 23.7 points per game.

The USBWA Player of the Year is Connecticut’s Tina Charles, while Coach of the Year honors went to Nebraska’s Connie Yori. Brittney Griner (Baylor) was named the USBWA Freshman of the Year.

Print Friendly Version