Story Links

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Virginia’s senior All-American midfielders Kaitlin Duff and Brittany Kalkstein have been named official 2010 Tewaaraton Award Nominees, as announced today by The Greater Washington Sports Alliance.

With a list that started with over 100 of the nation’s top men’s and women’s collegiate players, Duff and Kalkstein have been selected among the top-25 women’s players across the nation. Of these nominees, only five will be named finalists. All Tewaaraton nominees are screened and selected by a selection committee that is comprised of collegiate coaches.

Duff, a native of Bethesda, Md., recently became the second Cavalier in program history to reach the 100 mark in five different career statistical categories. She currently has 106 career goals, 154 points, 170 ground balls, 100 draw controls and 119 caused turnovers, and joins former Cavalier All-American Lauren Aumiller (2000-03) as the only players to accomplish the feat.

The speedy lefty currently leads the team in goals and points, with 31 and 47, respectively, and has a team-best 37 ground balls. She is also tied with Kalkstein for the lead in caused turnovers, with 23, and is just nine shy of breaking Tiffany Schummer’s school record of 127 from 2000-03.

Duff has started every game throughout her career and has earned All-America recognition, in addition to being a two-time All-South Region honoree and a two-time All-ACC member. She was named to the National All-Rookie Squad in 2007 and to the NCAA All-Tournament Team in her first year. Duff also led the team through last season’s ACC Tournament and was named to the all-tournament team for her accomplishment.

Kalkstein, a strong compliment to Duff, has made a name for herself through draw controls. The Baltimore, Md., native shattered Virginia’s program record – previously held at 195 by Aumiller – before breaking the ACC’s all-time mark, held by Maryland’s Dana Dobbie at 205 from 2007-08. Kalkstein currently has 269 and moved into fourth on the NCAA’s all-time career list.

This season, Kalkstein has won a team-best 79 draw controls to shatter her own school record in the category and ranks third nationally, averaging 5.27 per game. Defensively, she shares the team lead with Duff in caused turnovers, both collecting 23, while she’s also effective on the offensive end, ranking second with 28 goals and 44 points.

The 2007 National Rookie of the Year, Kalkstein has earned ACC Player of the Week honors twice this season (March 4 and March 23), in addition to national player of the week honors by Nike/Inside Lacrosse (March 2) and (March 1).

Throughout her career, Kalkstein has earned All-America honors, All-South Region accolades and was an ACC All-Tournament team member. She was voted the ACC Rookie of the Year in 2007 and has started every game throughout her career.

The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 and is the pre-eminent lacrosse award, which is given annually to the NCAA men’s and women’s lacrosse player of the year. This will be the 10th annual awards ceremony and is the “Year of the Seneca”.

The award will be presented on June 3, 2010 at the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C. For additional information on the award or to purchase tickets, please visit

Official Women’s 2010 Tewaaraton Award Nominees
Sarah Bullard, Duke University – Junior (Midfield), Needham, MA
Ally Carey, Vanderbilt University – Sophomore (Midfield), Bel Air, MD
Kristen Carr, University of North Carolina – Senior (Midfield), Baltimore, MD
Ali Deluca, University of Pennsylvania – Senior (Midfield), Hillsborough, N.J.
Christina Dove, Syracuse University – Junior (Midfield), Bel Air, MD
Katrina Dowd, Northwestern University – Senior (Midfield), Yorktown Heights, NY
Kaitlin Duff, University of Virginia – Senior (Midfield), Bethesda, MD
Hillary Fratzke, Towson University – Senior (Midfield), Centreville, MD
Lindsay Gilbride, Duke University – Senior (Midfield), Alexandria, VA
Kim Griffen, James Madison University – Senior (Midfield), Jarrettsville, MD
Blake Hargest, Franklin & Marshall College – Senior (Attack), Cockeysville, MD
Liz Hogan, Syracuse University – Junior (Goalkeeper), Victor, NY
Alison Jaeger, The College of New Jersey – Junior (Midfield), Hampton, N.J.
Karri Ellen Johnson, University of Maryland – Sophomore (Attack), Annapolis, MD
Sarah Jonson, College of William & Mary – Junior (Defense), Dallas, TX
Brittany Kalkstein, University of Virginia – Senior (Midfield), Baltimore, MD
Caitlin McFadden, University of Maryland – Senior (Midfield), Phoenix, MD
Greta Myer, Dartmouth College – Junior (Midfield), Denver, CO
Logan Ripley, University of North Carolina – Senior (Goalkeeper), Earlysville, VA
Jenn Russell, University of North Carolina – Senior (Midfield), Andover, MA
Shannon Smith, Northwestern University – Sophomore (Midfield), West Babylon, N.Y.
Danielle Spencer, Northwestern University – Senior (Midfield), Brighton, N.Y.
Karissa Taylor, University of Maryland – Senior (Defense), Easton, MD
Leigh Titus, Lock Haven University – Senior (Midfield), Towaco, N.J.
Julie Wadland, Dartmouth College – Senior (Goalkeeper), Andover, MD

Print Friendly Version