Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE – Virginia women’s basketball recently announced its 2010 postseason awards at a private gathering celebrating its season. Consensus All-American Monica Wright was named the Cavalier of the Year.

Wright also earned awards for having the team’s most free throws made (163) and most rebounds per game (6.4). Additionally, she was named the Most Valuable Player (MVP) in Practice, Best Defensive Player, Best Offensive Player, and was given the Leadership Award.

Sophomore Ariana Moorer earned the award for most assists (82), while freshman China Crosby earned the team’s Preseason Conditioning Award.

Freshmen Simone Egwu and Telia McCall shared Rookie of the Year as well as Most Improved Player honors.

Junior Jayna Hartig was tabbed the team’s Unsung Hero. The Bob Williams Award (named in honor of one of the most enthusiastic and supportive fans of Virginia women’s basketball, Bob Williams, for achievement in academics and athletics) went to Simone Egwu. The Alumni Scholarship (presented to a team member who best exemplifies the spirit and dedication that makes Virginia women’s basketball so successful) went to Jayna Hartig. The Thomas J. Ryan Memorial Scholarship (presented to a hard-working player committed to success; a team player who shuns the spotlight in favor of her teammates; a player who believes in family values and shares those values with her team) went to Chelsea Shine.

This year’s coaches awards (for outstanding contributions to the team) went to: Maurice Apprey (Dean – Office of African-American Affairs), John T. Casteen III (University President), Angel Cavanaugh (Compliance), Lindsay Clark (Co-Head Manager), Bethany Dannelly (Graduate Assistant), Meryl Kahn (Manager), Matt Marlow (Video Coordinator/Assistant Director of Operations), Marty Northcroft (Marketing and Promotions), Jackie Saunders (Co-Head Manager), Stacy Fowler (Housekeeping) and Wanda Grooms (Housekeeping).

The Cavaliers finished the year with a 21-10 overall record and a third-place finish in the Atlantic Coast Conference (9-5). Advancing to their third-consecutive NCAA Tournament, the Cavaliers had 20 wins for the 23rd time in head coach Debbie Ryan’s career.

2010 Virginia Women’s Basketball Awards
Cavalier of the Year: Monica Wright
Best Offensive Player: Monica Wright
Best Defensive Player: Monica Wright
Rookie of the Year: Simone Egwu and Telia McCall
Most Improved Player: Simone Egwu and Telia McCall
Leadership Award: Monica Wright
Unsung Hero: Jayna Hartig
MVP in Practice: Monica Wright
Preseason Conditioning: China Crosby
Most Assists: Ariana Moorer
Rebounding: Monica Wright
Free Throw Shooting: Monica Wright
Bob Williams Award: Simone Egwu
Alumni Scholarship: Jayna Hartig
Thomas J. Ryan Memorial Scholarship: Chelsea Shine
Coaches’ Awards: Maurice Apprey, John T. Casteen III, Angel Cavenaugh, Lindsay Clark, Bethany Dannelly, Meryl Kahn, Matt Marlow, Marty Northcroft, Jackie Saunders, Stacy Fowler, Wanda Grooms

Print Friendly Version