Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – The No. 1 Virginia Cavaliers (13-1, 2-1 ACC) return to action as the nation’s top-ranked team once again in both the Nike/Inside Lacrosse media and USILA coaches polls after capturing the ACC Championship over Maryland, 10-6, on April 25. UVa concludes the regular season against the Robert Morris Colonials (9-4, 4-1 Away) on Saturday afternoon, inside Klöckner Stadium. Faceoff is scheduled for 1 p.m. Live stats will be available at

Thirteen members of the UVa lacrosse program playing their final regular season home game will be honored prior to the start of the game. Will Bolton, Brian Carroll, Kevin Carroll, Ken Clausen, Rob Eimer, Todd Faiella, Tim Fuchs, George Huguely, Brian McDermott, Ryan Nizolek, Max Pomper, Mikey Thompson and manager Peter Krawczyk will be the honorees.

The game will also be broadcast with a live audio webcast via V-Pass on with John Freeman calling the action and Doug Tarring doing the color analysis.

Saturday’s contest with Robert Morris is the inaugural meeting of a new series with the Colonials. 2010 marks the second-straight season that Virginia scheduled a regular season game against a first-time opponent, facing DI newcomer Bryant in 2009. Robert Morris is playing its second game this season against a member of the ACC and is 0-2 all-time against the league with both losses coming to North Carolina, including in Chapel Hill in 2009.

The Cavaliers fell to No. 2 in both the media and coaches poll for only one week after a setback to Duke, 13-9, on April 17. Six days after the loss UVa was triumphant over the No. 4 Duke Blue Devils in the semifinal round of the ACC Tournament, prompting a showdown with host Maryland for the championship. For the first time since 2006, Virginia brought the ACC Championship trophy back to Charlottesville courtesy of a 10-6 victory over the No. 5 Terrapins.

Chris Bocklet leads Virginia with 37 goals, while Stanwick holds the team lead with 22 assists and 47 points. Stanwick is second on the team with 25 goals, while Bocklet is second on the squad with 46 points. Rhamel Bratton is third on the team with 20 goals, while Brian Carroll is fourth on the team with 19 scores. Freshman Matt White has 16 goals and has tallied at least one point in every game of his young collegiate career. Shamel Bratton is tied with the rookie with 16 goals, while adding 12 assists of his own for 28 points, also tying White. Chris LaPierre has 43 ground balls, followed closely by Ken Clausen and his 42 ground balls. Ghitelman is saving 55.2 percent of the shots against him, while posting an 8.07 goals-against average to go with a team-best 46 ground balls.

Robert Morris head coach Bear Davis is in his sixth season after starting the men’s lacrosse program in 2005. Davis returns 32 letterwinners off a squad that went 9-7 in 2009, placing fifth in the CAA. The Colonials, the nation’s No. 1 scoring team (15.31 goals per game), are participating as an Independent in 2010 before transitioning into the Northeast Conference (NEC) where the rest of RMU’s sports participate.

Trevor Moore leads RMU with 54 points on 32 goals and 22 assists. Corbyn TaoBrambleby leads all Colonials with 37 goals, while Patrick Smith is chipping in 27 scores and 15 assists for 42 points on a team that has eight players registering double figures in goals, assists or both. Mike Grosz leads the team with 50 ground balls, while Dillon Pope is seeing the majority of the time in between the pipes for Robert Morris. Pope is saving 45.0 percent of shots, while posting a12.36 goals against average.

Virginia will next await its destiny in the NCAA Tournament. The NCAA Division I Selection show will be May 9 and televised live on ESPNU at 8:30 p.m. The first round of the NCAA Tournament will commence May 15-16 at home sites of the top eight seeds.

Tickets for Virginia lacrosse games can be purchased online at, by phone at (800) 542-8821 or in person at the Virginia Athletics Ticket Office in Bryant Hall at Scott Stadium Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Single-game tickets to lacrosse games are $7 (adult general admission), and $5 (youth, senior, faculty/staff general admission).

All reserved seats are sold out for the 2010 season.

Print Friendly Version