Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia sophomore men’s golfer Ben Kohles (Cary, N.C.) has been named the ACC Co-Player of the Year and Cavalier coach Bowen Sargent was selected the league’s Coach of the Year. Joining Kohles on the All-ACC squad is junior Will Collins (Salisbury, N.C.).

Kohles shares the Player of the Year designation with Florida State’s Brooks Koepka. It marks the second time in ACC history where two players have been honored as such. In 1997, Clemson’s Richard Coughlan and NC State’s Tim Clark were co-players of the year.

Kohles is the first UVa golfer to receive ACC Player of the Year honors since Simon Cooke in 1996.

Kohles finished first in three tournaments this season, including last weekend’s Cavalier Classic, and led the team with a 71.06 stroke average. His stroke average is the best among all ACC golfers this season. Collins was second on the team with a 72.50 stroke average. He finished as the runner-up at this year’s ACC Championships.

“I think it is very deserving for a young man that won three times in aseason and led the ACC in scoring average,” Sargent said of Kohles’ selection. “It is testimony to his efforts and the work he has put in over the last year and a half. I am very happy for him. I’m also excited for Will. He has been a consistent force for us all season and has played a big role in the growth of this program the past three seasons.”

Sargent led UVa to a second-place finish at the ACC Championships, the program’s best showing at the event since 1996. Virginia also won its own Cavalier Classic tournament last weekend by 20 strokes. UVa has finished in the top three in eight of 11 events this season. The Cavaliers are currently ranked No. 17 in the Golfstat rankings.

Sargent is the second UVa men’s golf coach to receive the honor. Mike Moraghan was recognized by the ACC as its coach of the year in 1992. Sargent becomes the 12th active UVa coach to receive ACC Coach of the Year honors during their tenure at Virginia.

Voting for the All-ACC team and individual awards is done by the league’s coaches.

2010 All-ACC Men’s Golf Team
(Listed alphabetically by school)
Name School Yr. Hometown
Ben Martin Clemson Sr. Greenwood, S.C.
Adam Long Duke Sr. St. Louis, Mo.
Brooks Koepka Florida State So. Wellington, Fla.
Seath Lauer Florida State Sr. Huntington, Ind.
John-Tyler Griffin Georgia Tech Jr. Wilson, N.C.
Chesson Hadley Georgia Tech Sr. Raleigh, N.C.
James White Georgia Tech So. Acworth, Ga.
Jack Fields North Carolina So. Southern Pines, N.C.
Matt Hill NC State Jr. Brights Grove, Ontario
Will Collins Virginia Jr. Salisbury, N.C.
Ben Kohles Virginia So. Cary, N.C.

Lee Bedford Wake Forest So. Cary, N.C.
Brendan Gielow Wake Forest Sr. Muskegon, Mich.

ACC Co-Players of the Year
Brooks Koepka, Florida State
Ben Kohles, Virginia

ACC Freshman of the Year
Brinson Paolini, Duke (Fr., Virginia Beach, Va.)

ACC Coach of the Year
Bowen Sargent, Virginia

Print Friendly Version