Story Links

July 26, 2010
10:02 a.m.

GREENSBORO, N.C. — Goodbye, Jacksonville and San Francisco.

Hello, El Paso and Shreveport.

As in 2009, the ACC has tie-ins with eight bowls this season, including the Orange, which is part of the Bowl Championship Series. But the conference no longer will send teams to the Gator (Jacksonville, Fla.) or the Emerald (San Francisco) bowls.

Replacing those games in the ACC’s postseason lineup are the Independence (Dec. 27, 5 p.m., Mountain West opponent, Shreveport, La.) and the Sun (Dec. 31, 2 p.m., Pac-10 opponent, El Paso, Texas).

The ACC also will be represented in these bowls, all holdovers from last season:

* Champs Sports — Dec. 28, 6:30 p.m., Big East opponent or Notre Dame, Orlando, Fla.

* EagleBank — Dec. 29, 2:30 p.m., Conference USA opponent, Washington, D.C.

* Music City — Dec. 30, 7:30 p.m., SEC opponent, Nashville, Tenn.

* Meineke Car Care — Dec. 31, noon, Big East opponent, Charlotte, N.C.

* Chick-fil-A — Dec. 31, 7:30 p.m., SEC opponent, Atlanta

* Orange — Jan. 3, 8 p.m., BCS opponent, Miami Gardens, Fla.

Also, if the Pac-10 or the WAC is unable to supply a team to the Kraft Fight Hunger Bowl, Jan. 9 in San Francisco, the ACC could send a ninth bowl-eligible team to that game.

In 2009, only seven of the ACC’s 12 teams won enough games to become bowl-eligible. Among those that failed to do so was UVa. Since the end of the 2005 season, the Cavaliers have played in only one bowl — the Gator, in which they lost 31-28 on Jan. 1, 2008.

Virginia will face two teams from the NCAA’s Football Championship Subdivision this season — Richmond and VMI — and so must finish at least 7-5 to become bowl-eligible.

Jeff White

Print Friendly Version