Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Former UVa men’s lacrosse All-American Matt Poskay of the Boston Cannons has been selected as the 2010 Bud Light Major League Lacrosse Most Valuable Player, according to MLL Commissioner David Gross. The award was based on the votes submitted by the head coaches and general managers of each of the league’s six teams.

This marks the fifth consecutive year that the Bud Light MVP winner is also the Warrior Offensive Player of the Year. It was announced Tuesday that Poskay earned the Warrior Offensive Player of the Year award.

The Boston Cannons picked Poskay, a 2006 graduate of Virginia, with the 12th overall selection in the MLL Collegiate Draft.

This season, Poskay moved from midfield to attack to give the Cannons more firepower. The move paid off, allowing Poskay to score a league leading 45 goals and 52 points in 12 games. The attackman scored a team record of 140 goals in 51 career games and set the Cannons’ single season team record at 45 goals.

Poskay significantly impacted the Cannons’ score sheet, tallying four or more goals in seven games on the season while retaining a shooting percentage of 45.9 percent. He was named the Bud Light Game MVP twice during the regular season and took home MLL Offensive Player of the Week honors following a four goal performance in the season opener.

This marks the second time in Boston’s history that the Bud Light MVP award has been given to a Cannons’ player in back-to-back seasons. In 2004, Conor Gill, another UVa alum, became the first Cannon to receive the honor and Mark Millon was the second the following year. Last season Paul Rabil brought the award back to the Cannons.

Poskay earned five first place votes for a total of 31 points. Long Island’s Matt Danowski finished second for the award with 24 points while Denver’s Max Seibald was third with 10 points.

Poskay joins Gill and Jay Jalbert as former Cavaliers to be named MVP of the MLL.

All-Time MLL Bud Light MVPs
2001 Ryan Powell, Rochester
2002 Greg Cattrano, Baltimore
2003 Jay Jalbert, Long Island
2004 Conor Gill, Boston
2005 Gary Gait, Baltimore
Mark Millon, Boston

2006 Ryan Powell, San Francisco
2007 John Grant Jr., Rochester
2008 John Grant Jr., Rochester
2009 Paul Rabil, Boston
2010 Matt Poskay, Boston

Print Friendly Version