Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia head baseball coach Brian O’Connor has announced his team’s upcoming fall schedule, which includes three open practices, an exhibition with the Ontario Blue Jays and the program’s annual Orange and Blue World Series. Fall practice begins next Friday (Sept. 3) and runs through mid-October.

Three practices will be open to the public – Sept. 4 (noon), Sept. 11 (8:30 a.m.) and Sept. 18 (8:30 a.m.).

Virginia will play the Ontario Blue Jays in an exhibition game at 6 p.m. Sept. 24 at Davenport Field. Admission to the game is free.

Virginia’s annual fall intrasquad competition, the Orange and Blue World Series, begins Oct. 3 at Davenport Field. The seven-game series will be contested over a two-week period, ending Oct. 17. Each game is free of charge and will start at 6 p.m.

The Cavaliers return 22 letterwinners from the 2010 squad which won a school-record 51 games, captured the ACC Coastal Division title and won the program’s second straight regional championship. Eight highly-touted freshmen also enter the mix.

2010 Virginia Fall Baseball

Open Practices
Saturday, Sept. 4 – Noon
Saturday, Sept. 11 – 8:30 a.m.
Saturday, Sept. 18 – 8:30 a.m.

Virginia vs. Ontario Blue Jays (exhibition)
Friday, Sept. 24 – 6 p.m.

Orange & Blue World Series (free to public; all games start at 6 p.m.)
Game 1: Sunday, Oct. 3
Game 2: Tuesday, Oct. 5
Game 3: Wednesday, Oct. 6
Game 4: Tuesday, Oct. 12
Game 5: Thursday, Oct. 14
Game 6: Friday, Oct. 15
Game 7: Sunday, Oct. 17

Print Friendly Version

" "