Story Links

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The Greater Washington Alliance announced today they added 10 men, including Virginia’s Adam Ghitelman and Chris LaPierre, to its Tewaaraton Award Watch List. On March 4 the original watch list also included UVa’s Chris Bocklet, Shamel Bratton and Steele Stanwick.

Ghitelman is one of the nation’s top goalies, sitting in a tie for No. 6 all-time with 44 career goalie wins, tops in the ACC. His 500 career saves rank No. 3 all-time at Virginia. LaPierre is a valuable asset to the Cavaliers all over the field. He leads the team with 58 ground balls and on the side has succeed on 51.6 percent of faceoffs (16-of-31).

The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 by The University Club of Washington, DC and is the pre-eminent lacrosse award, which is awarded annually to the NCAA male and female lacrosse players of the year. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora. The 11th annual Tewaaraton Award event is set to recognize the Year of the Tuscarora.

This year’s Tewaaraton Award will be presented on June 2, 2011 at the historical Warner Theatre in Washington, D.C. Event details and ticket information can be found at

Official Men’s 2011 Tewaaraton Award Watch List **-denotes 10 players added
Stefan Bauer, Lafayette College
Peter Baum, Colgate University
Billy Bitter, University of North Carolina
Anthony Biscardi, University of Massachussetts**
Chris Bocklet, University of Virginia
Jeremy Boltus, United States Military Academy
Sam Bradman, Salisbury University
Shamel Bratton, University of Virginia
Zach Brenneman, University of Notre Dame
Jay Card, Hofstra University
Grant Catalino, University of Maryland
Brian Caufield, University of Albany**
Matt Chadderdon, Le Moyne College
Jake Clarke, Bucknell University
Tom Compitello, Stony Brook University
CJ Costabile, Duke University
Kevin Crowley, Stony Brook University
Kevin Cunningham, Villanova University**
Jimmy Dailey, Stevenson University
Chris DeLuca, State University of New York Cortland
Jimmy Dunster, University of North Carolina
David Earl, University of Notre Dame
Barney Ehrmann, Georgetown University
Peter Fallon, Brown University
Brian Farrell, University of Maryland
Tyler Fiorito, Princeton University
Ryan Flanagan, University of North Carolina
John Galloway, Syracuse University
Adam Ghitelman, University of Virginia**
Dean Gibbons, Harvard University
Matt Gibson, Yale University
John Haus, University of Maryland**
Bill Henderson, United States Military Academy
DJ Hessler, Tufts University
Dan Hostetler, Georgetown University
Zach Howell, Duke University
Brett Hughes, University of Pennsylvania
Matt Johnson, University of Albany**
Brian Karalunas, Villanova University
Stephen Keogh, Syracuse University
John Lade, Syracuse University
Chris LaPierre, University of Virginia**
Jamie Lincoln, Hofstra University
Matt Mackrides, Pennsylvania State University
Mark Manos, Drexel University
JoJo Marasco, Syracuse University
Kiel Matisz, Robert Morris University
Jack McBride, Princeton University
Jordan McBride, Stony Brook University
Peter Mezzanotte, Towson University
Rickey Mirabito, Georgetown University
Tom Palesky, United States Military Academy**
Rob Pannell, Cornell University
Tom Perini, Lafayette College
John Ranagan, Johns Hopkins University**
Adam Rand, Stony Brook University
Kevin Ridgway, University of Notre Dame
Brett Schmidt, University of Maryland
Steele Stanwick, University of Virginia
Charlie Streep, Bucknell University
Jeremy Thompson, Syracuse University
Garret Thul, United States Military Academy**
Justin Tuma, Roanoke College
Justin Turri, Duke University
Chad Wiedmaier, Princeton University
Kyle Wharton, Johns Hopkins University
Joel White, Syracuse University
Ryan Young, University of Maryland

Print Friendly Version