Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Senior All-American Liz Downs has been named an official nominee for the 2011 Tewaaraton Award. Awarded to the top male and female collegiate player, the Tewaaraton award is the nation’s pre-eminent collegiate lacrosse accolade. Downs is among 11 ACC players, in addition to one of only four defenders in the nation, to be honored as one of the final 24 nominees.

Hailing from Alexandria, Va., Downs is the anchor to the Cavaliers’ defense. The co-captain has started every game of her career and is a two-time All-South Region Second Team selection. In addition, she earned All-ACC and All-ACC Academic Team honors in 2010.

This year, the defender leads all field players in the ACC in ground balls per game, averaging 2.00 per game. She is also ranked fifth in the league with 1.29 caused turnovers per outing.

Throughout her career, Downs has accumulated 94 ground balls, 50 draw controls and 57 caused turnovers.

A watch list which began with over 100 names has been whittled down to 24 finalists. This year’s nominees represent 13 different schools and some of the country’s top lacrosse programs. Five male and five female finalists will be selected from the nominees. Finalists will be invited to the award ceremony in June where a male and a female winner will be honored.

“In now its 11th year, the Tewaaraton Award continues to establish itself as the pre-eminent collegiate lacrosse honor,” said Robert Sweeney, President of the Greater Washington Sports Alliance. “This year’s field is one of the best yet, and our selection committees have done a tremendous job sorting through the brightest talent in the college lacrosse world. We are looking forward to another exciting finish to the lacrosse season and seeing what the nation’s best players have to offer.”

The 11th annual Tewaaraton Award will be presented on June 2, 2011 at the historic Warner Theatre in Washington, D.C. Event details and ticket information can be found at Fans can also follow the Tewaaraton Award on Facebook for daily updates and news.

Official Women’s 2011 Tewaaraton Nominees
Casey Ancarrow, James Madison University – Sophomore (Attack), Jarrettsville, Md.
Erin Brennan, University of Pennsylvania – Junior (Attack), Garden City, N.Y.
Ally Carey, Vanderbilt University – Junior (Midfield), Bel Air, Md.
Kitty Cullen, University of Florida – Sophomore (Midfield), Rockville, Md.
Brittany Dipper, University of Maryland – Junior (Goalkeeper), Clarksboro, N.J.
Corey Donohoe, University of North Carolina – Senior (Attack), Jarrettsville, Md.
Liz Downs, University of Virginia – Senior (Defense), Alexandria, Va.
Leslie Foard, Stanford University – Senior (Midfield), Cincinnati, Ohio
Taylor Frink, University of Albany – Senior (Attack), Baldwinsville, N.Y.
Grace Gavin, Loyola University, Maryland – Senior (Attack), Baltimore, Md.
Grace Golden, William and Mary – Senior (Midfield), Manhasset, N.Y.
Emma Hamm, Duke University – Junior (Midfield), Wayne, Pa.
Mia Hurrin, University of North Carolina – Senior (Defense), Alexandria, Va.
Karri Ellen Johnson, University of Maryland – Junior (Attack), Annapolis, Md.
Sarah Jonson, William and Mary – Senior (Defense), Dallas, Texas
Christie Kaestner, Duke University – Senior (Attack), Trappe, Md.
Sarah Mollison, University of Maryland – Senior (Attack), Melbourne, Australia
Lauren Schmidt, Stanford University – Senior (Midfield), Bay Shore, N.Y.
Katie Schwarzmann, University of Maryland – Sophomore (Midfield), Sykesville, Md.
Shannon Smith, Northwestern University – Junior (Midfield), West Babylon, N.Y.
Kerry Stoothoff, Loyola University, Maryland – Junior (Goalkeeper), Blue Point, N.Y.
Kat Thomas, Duke University – Junior (Midfield), Latham, N.Y.
Taylor Thornton, Northwestern University – Sophomore (Defense), Dallas, Texas
Laura Zimmerman, University of North Carolina – Junior (Midfield), Syracuse, N.Y.

Print Friendly Version