Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia attackman Steele Stanwick was selected from a watch list of over 100 of the country’s top lacrosse players and is one of the final 25 nominees for the heralded Tewaaraton Trophy, awrded to the top male collegiate lacrosse player.

Stanwick ranks No. 5 nationally with 1.91 assists per game, No. 7 nationally with 4.0 points per game and No. 30 nationally with 2.09 goals per game. The Baltimore, Md., native has also won two games in overtime (Stony Brook and North Carolina) with goals for the nation’s top scoring offense (13.0 goals a game).

“In now its 11th year, the Tewaaraton Award continues to establish itself as the pre-eminent collegiate lacrosse honor,” said Robert Sweeney, President of the Greater Washington Sports Alliance. “This year’s field is one of the best yet, and our selection committees have done a tremendous job sorting through the brightest talent in the college lacrosse world. We are looking forward to another exciting finish to the lacrosse season and seeing what the nation’s best players have to offer.”

Stanwick is one of seven ACC players to make the nominee list, including Billy Bitter (North Carolina), Grant Catalino (Maryland), C.J. Costabile (Duke), Brian Farrell (Maryland), Zach Howell (Duke) and Ryan Young (Maryland).

The 11th annual Tewaaraton Award will be presented on June 2, 2011 at the historic Warner Theatre in Washington, D.C. Event details and ticket information can be found at

Official Men’s 2011 Tewaaraton Nominees
Peter Baum, Colgate University – Sophomore (Midfield), Portland, Ore.
Billy Bitter, University of North Carolina – Senior (Attack), Manhasset, N.Y.
Jeremy Boltus, United States Military Academy – Senior (Attack), Baldwinsville, N.Y.
Zach Brenneman, University of Notre Dame – Senior (Midfield), East Hampton, N.Y.
Jay Card, Hofstra University – Senior (Attack), Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Grant Catalino, University of Maryland – Senior (Attack), Webster, N.Y.
C.J. Costabile, Duke University – Junior (Midfield), New Fairfield, Conn.
Kevin Crowley, Stony Brook University – Senior (Midfield), New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada
David Earl, University of Notre Dame – Senior (Midfield), Simsbury, Conn.
Brian Farrell, University of Maryland – Senior (Midfield), Baltimore, Md.
John Galloway, Syracuse University – Senior (Goalkeeper), Syracuse, N.Y.
D.J. Hessler, Tufts University – Senior (Attack), Monkton, Md.
Zach Howell, Duke University – Senior (Attack), Huntington, N.Y.
Shayne Jackson, Limestone College – Junior (Attack), Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Brian Karalunas, Villanova University – Senior (Defense), Dewitt, N.Y.
Stephen Keogh, Syracuse University – Senior (Attack), Toronto, Ontario, Canada
John Lade, Syracuse University – Senior (Defense), Randolph, N.J.
Rob Pannell, Cornell University – Junior (Attack), Smithtown, N.Y.
John Ranagan, Johns Hopkins University – Sophomore (Midfield), Yorktown, N.Y.
Adam Rand, Stony Brook University – Senior (Midfield), Niantic, Conn.
Kevin Ridgway, University of Notre Dame – Senior (Defense), Kensington, Md.
Steele Stanwick, University of Virginia – Junior (Attack), Baltimore, Md.
Garret Thul, United States Military Academy – Sophomore (Attack), Flemington, N.J.
Joel White, Syracuse University – Senior (Midfield), Cortland, N.Y.
Ryan Young, University of Maryland – Senior (Attack), Manhasset, N.Y.

Print Friendly Version