Story Links

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Senior All-American Liz Downs and junior Julie Gardner have been named to the 2011 All-ACC Women’s Lacrosse Team, as announced by the league office Wednesday. Downs, a top-24 finalist for the Tewaaraton Trophy, is making her second-straight appearance on the team, while Gardner is being recognized for the first time.

Downs is one of just three defenders to make the 18-person all-conference team. The co-captain leads all field players in the ACC in ground balls per game this year, averaging 2.00 per outing, while she is also ranked fifth in the league with 1.29 caused turnovers per contest. The Alexandria, Va., native is a two-time All-South Region honoree for the Cavaliers, while she was also named to the 2010 All-ACC Academic Team.

Gardner is ranked third in the ACC in assists per game (1.64) and sixth in points per contest (3.64). An attacker from Severna Park, Md., Gardner has recorded at least one point in all 14 games this season and leads the Cavaliers with 51 points and 23 helpers. She has notched 10 multiple-goal games this year, including five hat tricks, and has dished out more than one assist on five occasions.

Maryland led all ACC league schools with six representatives on the all-conference team, while Duke placed four on the team. All six ACC women’s lacrosse programs were represented on this year’s squad.

Virginia will open the 2011 ACC Championship on Thursday, facing No. 4 North Carolina at 7 p.m. The game will be played at the WakeMed Park in Cary, N.C.

2011 All-ACC Women’s Lacrosse Team
Kristin Igoe, Senior, Midfield, Boston College
Brittany Wilton, Junior, Attack, Boston College
Emma Hamm*, Junior, Attack, Duke
Christie Kaestner*, Senior, Attack, Duke
Kat Thomas*, Junior, Midfield, Duke
Kim Wenger, Junior, Midfield, Duke
Brittany Dipper*, Junior, Goalkeeper, Maryland
Katie Gallagher, Senior, Defense, Maryland
Karri Ellen Johnson*, Junior, Attack, Maryland
Laura Merrifield, Senior, Midfield, Maryland
Sarah Mollison*, Senior, Attack, Maryland
Katie Schwarzmann*, Sophomore, Midfield, Maryland
Corey Donohoe*, Senior, Attack, North Carolina
Mia Hurrin*, Senior, Defense, North Carolina
Laura Zimmerman*, Junior, Attack, North Carolina
Liz Downs*, Senior, Defense, Virginia
Julie Gardner, Junior, Attack, Virginia

Allie Emala, Senior, Attack, Virginia Tech
* 2011 Tewaaraton Trophy Candidates

Print Friendly Version