Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE – Virginia rowers Kristine O’Brien (Massapequa Park, N.Y.) and Christine Roper (Reading, St. James, Jamaica) have been named to the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) All-America teams, the organization announced.

O’Brien, a sophomore, was named a first-team All-American while Roper, a senior, garnered second-team honors. It is the first All-America honor for both.

O’Brien was a first-team CRCA All-South Region team member and has rowed with the Varsity Eight during her two seasons as a Cavalier. The 2010 Atlantic Coast Conference Rookie of the Year, O’Brien earned All-ACC honors in 2011 after the Cavaliers won the conference championship.

Roper was also a first-team CRCA All-South Region team member as a member of the Varsity Eight. She was named to the 2011 All-ACC team.

Virginia made its 14th all-time appearance at the NCAA Championships in May and finished sixth in the team standings. The Varsity Eight won its petite final to finish seventh.

CRCA First Team All-America
Tessie Allen, Brown University
Ashton Brown, Princeton University
Olivia Coffey, Harvard University
Laura Cowel, Michigan State University
Anna Dawson, Stanford University
Emily Dreissigacker, Dartmouth College
Ivana Filipovic, University of Southern California
Tessa Gobbo, Brown University
Mary Jeghers, University of California, Berkeley
Casey Kelsey, Brown University
Kara Kohler, University of California, Berkeley
Elle Logan, Stanford University
Stephanie Madner, Yale University
Felice Mueller, University of Michigan
Kristine O’Brien, University of Virginia
Emily Reynolds, Princeton University
Erika Roddy, Stanford University
Corinna Sharick, Washington State University
Michaela Strand, Princeton University
Maria Wilgotsson, University of Southern California
Lauren Wilkinson, Princeton University
Lila Flavin, coxswain, Princeton University

CRCA Second Team All-America
Allison Courtin, Brown University
Ulrike Denker, Ohio State University
Rebecca Donald, University of Pennsylvania
Laura D’Urso, Clemson University
Natalie Eisermann, University of Michigan
Elise Etem, University of California, Berkeley
Taylor Goetzinger, Cornell University
Alex Japhet, Duke University
Vanessa Kleiss, University of Wisconsin
Kellie Lapointe, Michigan State University
Kristina Lofman, University of California, Berkeley
Grace Luczak, Stanford University
Maureen McAuilffe, George Mason University
Caroline Nash, Yale University
Christine Roper, University of Virginia
Claudia Schiwy, Ohio State University
Veronica Townsend, Northeastern University
Jennifer Vander Maarel, University of Texas, Austin
Lenka Vrecnikova, University of Southern California
Sarah Wolff, Washington State University
Ellie Smith, coxswain, Brown University

Print Friendly Version