Story Links

Charlottesville, Va. – Virginia senior defensive end Cam Johnson (Washington, D.C.) has been named to the 2011 Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award Watch List. Johnson is one of 35 players on the list. The award is now in its 10th season in 2011 and former UVa All-American Chris Long is the only Cavalier to previously win the award (2007).

Last season Johnson (6-4, 265) moved to defensive end from linebacker during the program’s shift from a 3-4 defensive scheme to a 4-3. He led UVa with 6.5 sacks and was No. 6 in the ACC with 0.54 sacks per game. He ranked fifth in the league with 14.5 tackles for a loss. Johnson’s tackles for loss total ranked No. 12 on UVa’s single-season list.

Johnson enters his senior season having played in 30 games and recorded 100 tackles, 8.5 sacks and 22.5 tackles for loss. He has started 22 of UVa’s last 24 games. Johnson is also on the Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List.

The Ted Hendricks Award is named in honor of college football’s first three-time first-team All-American. As a defensive end at the University of Miami, Hendricks used his agility, height and reach to block passes and kicks, force interceptions and pressure quarterbacks and running backs. He roamed the front line, read plays and blitzed on impulse, completely transforming the way the defensive end position was played. His professional career spanned 15 years and 215 consecutive games. It included four Super Bowl victories, eight Pro Bowl selections and inductions into the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame. It is in the spirit of Ted Hendricks’ aggressive style of play, winning attitude and determination that the Defensive End of the Year Award for college football’s premier defensive end is presented.

On-field performance, exceptional winning attitude, leadership abilities, contributions to school and community and academic preparedness are some of the criteria used to determine the Award’s winner. Members of the national media, head coaches, professional scouts and former winners are included in the Award’s voting committee. Candidates may represent any class (Freshman through Senior) as well as any four-year NCAA accredited school. The candidate’s primary position must be defensive end.

The winner will be announced on December 7.

Previous recipients of the Hendricks Award include: 2002 – Terrell Suggs (Arizona State), 2003-04 – David Pollack (Georgia), 2005 – Elvis Dumervil (Louisville), 2006 – LaMarr Woodley (Michigan), 2007 – Chris Long (Virginia), 2008 – Brian Orakpo (Texas), 2009 – Jerry Hughes (TCU) and 2010 – Da’Quan Bowers (Clemson).

Print Friendly Version