Story Links

BOSTON, Mass.-The reigning ACC Champion Virginia rowing team opened its fall schedule Sunday (Oct. 23) at the 47th annual Head of the Charles in Boston. The Cavaliers had two boats in the championship eights, claiming first and 10th, while finishing second in the championship fours.

“It’s a significant win,” head coach Kevin Sauer said. “They did a nice job and raced really well and it wasn’t just our first eight boat. Our second eight and our four did really well too and defeated some top competition.”

In the championship eights, Virginia’s ‘A’ boat finished in a time of 16:11.52, more than eight seconds faster than second place, Radcliffe Crew (16:19.63). UVa’s ‘B’ boat placed 10th in a time of 16:45.65.

Each crew started the 5,000-meter course single file about 10-15 seconds apart. Both Cavalier vessels passed the boat that started in front of them with UVa’s ‘A’ boat passing Princeton, while the Cavs’ ‘B’ passed Northeastern.

In the championship fours, the Cavaliers, who were in the fourth boat off the mark, passed both the Radcliffe Crew and Riverside Boat Club boats on their way to finishing second in a time of 18:34.40. Virginia was the top collegiate team in the fours. Vesper Boat Club won the championship fours in 18:21.85.

“It was promising to see the four be competitive this early in the season,” associate head coach Steve Pritzker said. “We have a tremendous group of athletes on our team and look forward to continuing to develop the depth of our squad over the coming months.”

Virginia’s alumni eight finished second on Saturday (Oct. 22) in 17:25.56, nearly 40 seconds ahead of third place Ithaca College. Brown won the alumni eights in 17:15.01.

The Cavaliers return to action next Sunday (Oct. 30) for the Princeton Chase in Princeton, N.J.

Virginia Line-Ups:
Championship Fours (Bow Number 4):
Coxswain Molly Frear, Catherine Multari, Chelsea Simpson, Kaitlin Fanikos, Maddie Keating

Championship Eights ‘A’ (Bow Number 2): Coxswain Sidney Thorsten, Cara Linnekohl, Chandler Lally, Susanne Grainger, Brandy Herald, Martha Kuzzy, Fiona Schlesinger, Sarah Cowburn, Kristine O’Brien

Championship Eights ‘B’ (Bow Number 6): Coxswain Sarah Jordan, Carli Goldberg, Carolyn Glandorf, Lizzie Youngling, Morgan Joseph, Marelle Myers, Emmi Benton, Sarah Borchelt, Keziah Beall

Print Friendly Version