Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia is the only program in the history of the Tewaaraton Trophy to have three different individuals win the heralded award. Chris Rotelli (2003), Matt Ward (2006) and Steele Stanwick (2011) all won the award during a season they helped lead UVa to an NCAA title.

Rotelli and Ward came back for the ring ceremony to commemorate the 2011 NCAA title team, as over 300 people attended the private party. Along with Stanwick, it was the first time all three winners were together, creating a perfect picture opportunity.

Of the 11 all-time Tewaaraton Trophy winners, UVa has more first-time winners of any school. Three times a Syracuse player has won the award, but twice it was by Mikey Powell (2002 & 2003), the only two-time winner. Stanwick is the third Tewaaraton winner to win the award not in their final year of eligibility. Powell first won the award as a sophomore, while Duke’s Matt Danowski (2007) was a recipient in his fourth of five seasons at Duke.

Print Friendly Version