Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia punter Jimmy Howell has been named one of 54 candidates for the Ray Guy Award, which identifies the nation’s top punter, the Augusta Sports Council announced. Howell is one of five punters from the ACC on the list, joining Alex King (Duke), Shawn Powell (Florida State), Ryan Quigley (Boston College) and Dawson Zimmerman (Clemson).

Howell is averaging 39.6 yards per kick and has dropped 11 of his 34 punts inside the 20-yard line, while 11 of his punts have been fair caught. Only five of Howell’s punts have been returned for a total of 45 yards. Howell is averaging 40.2 yards per punt, placing him No. 6 all-time in the UVa annals for punting average.

The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Ga., native and College Football Hall of Fame inductee, Ray Guy. A national voting body of sports writers, college coaches, sports information directors and past Ray Guy Award winners determines the Ray Guy Award winner. Among the statistics used to identify the winner is net punting average, number of times a punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20-yard line, total yardage punted, average returned yardage, and percentage of punts not returned. The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline, and have a positive impact on the team’s success.

The list will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists to be announced on Nov. 11. Following the semifinalists announcement, a national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives and previous Ray Guy Award winners will vote for the top three finalists, who will be identified on Nov. 21. The voting body will then cast ballots to select the winner.

Print Friendly Version