Story Links

ST. LOUIS–Virginia senior forward Mike Scott is one of 20 players named to the Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List released on Monday (Feb. 6) by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association. Members of the association’s board of directors chose the players to be included on the list as contenders for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, to be presented to the national player of the year by its namesake at the USBWA’s College Basketball Awards Breakfast on March 30.

The 6-8 Scott is from Chesapeake, Va., and currently leads the Cavaliers in scoring (17.0 ppg.) and rebounding (8.5 rpg.). He is shooting 58.8 percent (134-228) from the field and 81.5 percent (101-124) from the free throw line.

In Atlantic Coast Conference statistics through games of Feb. 5, Scott ranks first among ACC players in field goal percentage, fourth in scoring, sixth in rebounding and eighth in free throw percentage. He also leads all active ACC players in career points scored (1,336), rebounds (865) and double-doubles (31).

Scott, a preseason All-ACC selection, has been named the ACC Player of the Week three times this season. He joins Barry Parkhill (1971-72), Ralph Sampson (1982-83), Bryant Stith (1989-90) and Norman Nolan (1997-98) as the only Virginia players to be named ACC Player of the Week three times in a season.

Scott is one of four ACC players on the Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List. The other three players from the ACC are Harrison Barnes, John Henson and Tyler Zeller from North Carolina.

Last month Scott was named to the Wooden Award Midseason Top 25 List.

Following is the Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List.

Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List

Name Ht. Yr. Pos. University

Harrison Barnes 6-8 So. F North Carolina

Isaiah Canaan 6-0 Jr. G Murray State

Anthony Davis 6-10 Fr. F Kentucky

Marcus Denmon 6-3 Sr. G Missouri

Draymond Green 6-7 Sr. F Michigan State

John Henson 6-11 Jr. F North Carolina

John Jenkins 6-4 Jr. G Vanderbilt

Kevin Jones 6-8 Sr. F West Virginia

Perry Jones III 6-11 So. F Baylor

Michael Kidd-Gilchrist 6-7 Fr. F Kentucky

Jeremy Lamb 6-5 So. G/F Connecticut

Damian Lillard 6-3 Jr. G Weber State

Doug McDermott 6-7 So. F Creighton

Mike Moser 6-8 So. F UNLV

Arnett Moultrie 6-11 Jr. F Mississippi State

Thomas Robinson 6-10 Jr. F Kansas

Mike Scott 6-8 Sr. F Virginia

Jared Sullinger 6-9 So. F Ohio State

Cody Zeller 6-11 Fr. F Indiana

Tyler Zeller 7-0 Sr. C North Carolina

(Players listed alphabetically.)

Print Friendly Version