Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Four student-athletes from Virginia are among 42 individuals recognized by the Atlantic Coast Conference as recipients of postgraduate scholarships, as announced Monday by commissioner John. D. Swofford.

Swimmer Kelly Flynn (The Woodlands, Texas), field hockey player Rachel Jennings (Macungie, Pa.) and women’s soccer player Maggie Kistner (St. Louis, Mo.) were among 36 ACC student-athletes to earn the Weaver-James-Corrigan scholarships, given to selected student-athletes who intend to pursue a graduate-level degree following graduation. Each recipient will receive $5,000 to use towards his or her graduate education. Student-athletes receiving the award have performed with distinction in both the classroom and in their respective sports, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.

In addition to receiving the postgraduate scholarship, Virginia women’s tennis player Lindsey Hardenbergh (Fairfax Station, Va.) was one of six recipients of the Weaver-James-Corrigan Honorary Awards. Each recipient was chosen based on his or her distinction in the classroom and sport, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community and intent to compete at the professional level.

Flynn has been a member of two ACC Championship swimming and diving teams at Virginia and is a four-time All-American and four-time conference champion as a relay member. She ranks among the top-10 in five different events on the school’s all-time top times list and is an all-league selection in the 200 breaststroke. Flynn has also qualified for the 2012 Olympic Trials in the 200 individual medley.

Jennings was a two-year captain of the field hockey team and helped the Cavaliers to the NCAA semifinals in 2009 and 2010. A defensive midfielder, she twice earned all-region honors from the National Field Hockey Coaches Association and was selected to the 2010 NCAA All-Tournament Team.

Kistner was a two-year captain of the women’s soccer team, which made four NCAA round of 16 appearances, including the quarterfinals in 2011. A defender, she finished her career with four goals and four assists while playing in 88 career games. Kistner was also named a 2008 Freshman All-American by SoccerBuzz.

Hardenbergh became the women’s tennis team’s first All-American in 2011 and is Virginia’s all-time singles wins record holder. She is a two-time All-ACC selection has twice competed in the NCAA Singles Championship.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan award is named in honor of the late Jim Weaver and Bob James as well as Gene Corrigan, all former ACC commissioners. The league’s first commissioner, James H. Weaver, served the conference from 1954 to 1970 after a stint as the Director of Athletics at Wake Forest University. His early leadership and uncompromising integrity are largely responsible for the excellent reputation enjoyed by the ACC today.

Robert C. James, a former University of Maryland football player, was named commissioner in 1971 and served for 16 years. During his tenure, the league continued to grow in stature and became recognized as a national leader in athletics and academics, winning 23 national championships and maintaining standards of excellence in the classroom.

Eugene F. Corrigan assumed his role as the third full-time commissioner on September 1, 1987, and served until August of 1997. During Corrigan’s tenure, ACC schools captured 30 NCAA championships and two national football titles.

Prior to 1994, the Weaver-James postgraduate scholarships were given as separate honors. The Jim Weaver award, which originated in 1970, recognized exceptional achievement on the playing field and in the classroom, while the Bob James award, established in 1987, also honored outstanding student-athletes.

The 42 student-athletes will be honored at the annual ACC Postgraduate Luncheon presented by ESPN on April 11 in the Guilford Ballroom at the Sheraton Greensboro Hotel at the Four Seasons.

Print Friendly Version