Story Links

SAN DIEGO, Calif.-The No. 1 Virginia rowing team earned three berths in grand finals on the first day of competition at the San Diego Crew Classic Saturday (March 31). The Cavaliers’ first Varsity Four and second Varsity Eight won their heats, while the first Varsity Eight also advanced to grand finals on Sunday (April 1).

The first Varsity Eight placed second in its heat in 6:38.74, just behind No. 6 USC, who led the entire race and finished first in 6:37.28. Those two boats, along with UCLA, advance to Sunday’s grand final for the Jessop-Whittier Cup, which will start at 12:25 p.m.

Virginia’s first Varsity Four came from behind to edge UCLA by 0.13, finishing in a time of 7:37.64 to the Bruins’ 7:37.77. UVa jumped out to an early lead, but UCLA overtook the Cavaliers and led throughout the race until the final 250 meters.

UVa made a strong late charge and pushed ahead of the Bruins right at the finish line to win by inches. The Cavaliers will compete in the Karen Plumleigh Cortney Cup grand final on Sunday at 1:10 p.m.

The Cavaliers’ second Varsity Four also made a late charge in its heat, but was unable to overtake USC for second place at the finish. UVa finished third in 7:33.38. No. 14 Washington State won the heat in 7:29.64, while the Trojans crossed second in a time of 7:31.84. The second V4 will compete in the petite final Sunday at 11:20 a.m.

In the second Varsity Eight, Virginia went wire-to-wire and held off a charge from No. 8 Washington to finish first in a time of 6:52.38 and defeat the Huskies (6:54.20). The second V8 will compete for the Jackie Ann Stitt Hungness Trophy on Sunday at 12:50 p.m.

All times are Eastern Standard Time.

Virginia Lineups

First Varsity Eight: Coxswain Sidney Thorsten, Keziah Beall, Martha Kuzzy, Kristine O’Brien, Sarah Cowburn, Brandy Herald, Susanne Grainger, Fiona Schlesinger, Sarah Borchelt

Second Varsity Eight: Coxswain Cristine Candland, MacKenzie Leahy, Carolyn Glandorf, Hemingway Benton, Kaitlin Fanikos, Maddie Keating, Marelle Myers, Morgan Joseph, Cara Linnenkohl

First Varsity Four: Coxswain Molly Frear, Ruth Retzinger, Kaity McCullough, Elle Murray, Chandler Lally

Second Varsity Four: Coxswain Sarah Jordan, Lizzy Youngling, Chelsea Simpson, Hunter Terry, Emily Pik

Print Friendly Version