Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE – Virginia women’s lacrosse senior Josie Owen (Gibson Island, Md.) has been named a nominee for the 2012 Tewaaraton Award. After being named one of 57 players on the women’s watch list for the award, which is given to the nation’s top female collegiate women’s lacrosse player, Owen has now been named one of 25 nominees.

On May 10, the list will be shortened to five finalists. Those five finalists will be invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony, which is being held on May 12 at the Smithsonian Institute’s National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

Owen was named to the All-Atlantic Coast Conference team at the conclusion of the league’s regular season and earned a spot on the 2012 ACC All-Tournament Team. Additionally, she was named the ACC Offensive Player of the Week on March 27.

Owen is Virginia’s leader in points (76), goals (41), assists (35) and draw controls (40). She has had two six-goal games this season.

Virginia concludes its regular season with a contest at No. 1 Northwestern on Saturday (April 28). First draw in Evanston, Ill., is scheduled for noon.

2012 Tewaaraton Award Women’s Nominees
Dana Cahill, GK, Penn State
Kara Cannizzaro, M, North Carolina
Ally Carey, M, Vanderbilt
Kitty Cullen, A, Florida
Brittany Dashiell, M, Florida
Emma Hamm, A, Duke
Kristin Igoe, M, Boston College
Karri Ellen Johnson, A, Maryland
Becky Lynch, A, North Carolina
Alayna Markwordt, A, Ohio State
Alyssa Murray, A, Syracuse
Josie Owen, A, Virginia
Marlee Paton, M, Loyola (Md.)
Sarah Plumb, M, Dartmouth
Iliana Sanza, D, Maryland
Katie Schwarzmann, M, Maryland
Shannon Smith, M, Northwestern
Jessi Steinberg, A, Cornell
Maggie Tamasitis, A, Notre Dame
Sophia Thomas, M, Georgetown
Taylor Thorton, D, Northwestern
Michelle Tumolo, A, Syracuse
Kim Wenger, M, Duke
Laura Zimmerman, M, North Carolina

Print Friendly Version