Story Links

Charlottesville, VA – The Atlantic Coast Conference announced today three members of the Virginia men’s golf team have been named to the All-ACC team. That trio includes senior Ben Kohles (Cary, N.C.), sophomore Ben Rusch (Weinfelden, Switzerland) and freshman Denny McCarthy (Rockville, Md.). This is the first year since the All-ACC team was instituted in 1975 that three Cavaliers have been named to the all-conference team.

McCarthy was also named the ACC’s Freshman of the Year. He is the third Cavalier to receive that honor and the first since Lewis Chitengwa in 1995.

Kohles becomes just the second men’s golfer in UVa history to earn all-conference honors for three consecutive years. Simon Cooke was named All-ACC in 1994, 1995 and 1996.

Kohles leads the Cavaliers in stroke average at 71.17 through 29 rounds this season. He led or shared the team lead in scoring in five of the nine tournaments he completed this season. Kohles finished first at the Cleveland Palmetto Intercollegiate and the Schenkel Invitational to become the winningest golfer in UVa history with seven tournament titles.

A total of 17 of his 29 rounds have been par or better. He placed in the top 10 in tournaments five times during the season to raise his career total to 22 top-10 finishes. He shot 18-under 198 to win the Schenkel Invitational and set UVa scoring records for 54-hole score and for lowest tournament score relative to par.

McCarthy becomes the fourth Cavalier freshman named to the All-ACC squad. He joins a group that includes Jimmy Flippen (1992), Lewis Chitengwa (1995) and James Driscoll (1997). McCarthy was second on the team this season with a 72.17 stroke average. He posted five top-10 finishes and led or shared the team lead in scoring five times.

Rusch was named to the All-ACC squad by virtue of winning the 2012 ACC Championship on April 22 in New London, N.C. He shot 10-under 206 to claim medalist honors and become the first Cavalier to win the title since Pete Arend in 1955. Rusch is third on the team with a 72.69 stroke average.

Voting for the All-ACC team and individual awards is done by the league’s coaches.

2012 All-ACC Men’s Golf Team
(Listed alphabetically by school)
Name School Year Hometown
Corbin Mills Clemson Jr. Anderson, S.C.
Julian Suri Duke Jr. St. Augustine, Fla.
Brooks Koepka Florida State Sr. Wellington, Fla.
Chase Seiffert Florida State Jr. Panama City, Fla.
James White Georgia Tech Sr. Acworth, Ga.
Anders Albertson Georgia Tech Fr. Woodstock, Ga.
Bo Andrews Georgia Tech So. Raleigh, N.C.
Albin Choi NC State So. Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Denny McCarthy Virginia Fr. Rockville, Md.
Ben Kohles Virginia Sr. Cary, N.C.
Ben Rusch Virginia So. Weinfelden, Switzerland
Lee Bedford Wake Forest Sr. Cary, N.C.

ACC Player of the Year
Bruce Koepka, Florida State

ACC Freshman of the Year
Denny McCarthy, Virginia

ACC Coach of the Year
Bruce Heppler, Georgia Tech

Print Friendly Version