Story Links

CAMDEN, N.J.-In its final tune-up before the NCAA Championships, the No. 2 Virginia rowing team’s first Varsity Eight broke the course record and the Novice Eight completed an undefeated season en route to a team sweep at the Eastern Women’s Sprints Sunday (May 13) on Cooper River in Camden, N.J.

“We came into the Sprints with the goal of racing as well as possible and I think we did that,” head coach Kevin Sauer said. “It was great to see the Novice Eight finish their season undefeated and see all of the other boats get wins as well. The V8 and V4 had good races today.”

In the first Varsity Eight grand final, the Cavaliers defeated Northeastern, 6:14.81 to 6:24.83, while also outpacing Boston University, Bucknell, M.I.T., and Navy. The 1V8’s time was a Cooper River course record, previously set by Yale in 2005 (6:15.6).

The second Varsity Eight pulled out the closest grand final of the day, crossing the line in 6:36.87 to Rhode Island’s 6:40.40.

The first Varsity Four won its grand final by over 15 seconds, defeating Massachusetts, 7:17.06 to 7:32.55, while the third Varsity Eight finished in a time of 6:51.45, over seven seconds faster than second-place Boston U. (6:58.52).

The Novice Eight (6:57.93) and second Varsity Four (7:26.77) also captured wins in finals Sunday afternoon. With the win, the Novice Eight completed an undefeated season.

In the morning heats, the Cavaliers swept the four races, with the first Varsity Eight posting a time of 6:18.83, nearly 20 seconds faster than Navy (6:37.84) and Bucknell (6:38.48). The second Varsity Eight crossed the line in 6:40.00, over nine seconds ahead of UMass (6:49.51), while the first Varsity Four (7:15.80) and third Varsity Eight (6:52.85) also posted victories.

The field for the 2012 NCAA Rowing Championships will be announced Tuesday (May 15) at 5 p.m. The selection show will be broadcast live on The national regatta will be held at Mercer Lake, N.J., on May 25-27.

Virginia Lineups:

First Varsity Eight: Coxswain Sidney Thorsten, Keziah Beall, Martha Kuzzy, Kristine O’Brien, Sarah Cowburn, Fiona Schlesinger, Susanne Grainger, Hemingway Benton, Carli Goldberg

Second Varsity Eight: Coxswain Sarah Jordan, MacKenzie Leahy, Chandler Lally, Elle Murray, Kaitlin Fanikos, Brandy Herald, Marelle Myers, Maddie Keating, Sarah Borchelt

Third Varsity Eight: Coxswain Sarah Shanfield, Betsy Nilan, Ann Reid, Cara Linnenkohl, Emily Pik, Kaity McCullough, Ashley Henrickson, Mary Nilan, Anna Kobayashi

First Varsity Four: Coxswain Cristine Candland, Ruth Retzinger, Hunter Terry, Chelsea Simpson, Carolyn Glandorf

Second Varsity Four: Coxswain Molly Frear, Liza Tullis, Francesca Lauritano, Catherine Multari, Jenny Shultis

Novice Eight: Coxswain Hayley LaFleche, Chloe Carry, Andie McPartland, Lexie Katz, Hannah Yoest, Katie Hillson, Veronica Jones, Emily Crump, Caroline Burke

Print Friendly Version