Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va.-The Virginia rowing program announced its 2012 awards and honored its graduates at its annual team banquet Monday (May 14). Senior Martha Kuzzy (Minneapolis, Minn.) was awarded the Coach’s Award for Excellence, while junior MacKenzie Leahy (Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.) was voted by her peers to win the Magruder Dent Oarsmanship Award. Freshman Kaitlyn Fanikos (Boston, Mass.) was named the Thomas Temple Allan Rookie of the Year.

Kuzzy, a two-year co-captain, has been a part of the first Varsity Eight that won the Head of the Charles in the fall and the ACC Championship on its way to winning ACC Crew of the Year. For the second straight year, she was selected to attend the USRowing Women’s Under-23 National Team Selection Camp.

Leahy was a co-recipient of the Oarsmanship Award last year and was in the stroke seat of the second Varsity Eight that captured an ACC Championship in April.

Fanikos was a member of the second Varsity Eight that won an ACC title and won the grand final at last weekend’s Eastern Sprints.

In addition to Kuzzy and Leahy, four-year rowers that were honored included Keziah Beall (Bainbridge Island, Wash.), Sarah Borchelt (Sterling, Mass.), Cristine Candland (Greenwich, Conn.), Carolyn Glandorf (Boston, Mass.), Morgan Joseph (Ellicott City, Md.), Francesca Lauritano (Bangkok, Thailand), Cara Linnenkohl (Redmond, Wash.), Marelle Myers (Fairfax, Va.), Ruth Retzinger (Cincinnati, Ohio), Sarah Shanfield (West Simsbury, Conn.), Jenny Shultis (Lexington, Va.), Hannah Silver (Portland, Ore.), Chelsea Simpson (Carlisle, Pa.), Katherine Stewart (New York, N.Y.), Hunter Terry (Greenwich, Conn.), Sidney Thorsten (Atlanta, Ga.) and Liza Tullis (Chicago, Ill.).

“We will miss this senior class immensely,” head coach Kevin Sauer said. “What a great group of young women!”

The Cavaliers await the 2012 NCAA Championship announcement, which will be announced Tuesday (May 15), at 5 p.m. The selection show will broadcast live on

Print Friendly Version