Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va.-The second-ranked Virginia rowing team travels to Mercer Lake, N.J., this weekend to take part in the NCAA Championships Friday through Sunday (May 25-27).

Live results and webcast links will be available and linked through

The action begins Friday with the First Varsity Eight competing at 9 a.m., in the first heat against Washington, Harvard, Yale and Brown. In the Second Varsity Eight, UVa will compete in the second heat at 10 a.m., against Michigan, Stanford, Yale and Notre Dame, while in the Varsity Four, Virginia is in the second heat at 10:45 a.m., and will race Washington, UCLA, Michigan and Stanford.

Each division (First Varsity Eight, Second Varsity Eight and Varsity Four) has three heats in the morning on Friday, with the top three moving on to Saturday’s semifinals. The remaining boats will race in a repechage to determine the final three semifinalists.

The semifinals begin Saturday at 9 a.m., with the 1V8, followed by the 2V8 and the V4, while the finals will take place on Sunday, with the Division I action beginning at 9:50 a.m. The final race of the weekend is the First Varsity Eight grand final at 12:05 p.m.

Last year, the Cavaliers finished sixth at regatta, with the first Varsity Four claiming second and the first Varsity Eight winning the petite final to place seventh overall.

Virginia is ranked No. 2 in the latest Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association poll and won its 12th ACC Championship in April.

Virginia has previously competed in 14 NCAA Championships, winning the 2010 national title and finishing as runner-up three times (most recently in 2007).

Cavalier boats have captured seven NCAA titles, with the Varsity Four claiming four (2004, 2005, 2007, 2010) and the second Varsity Eight winning three (1998, 1999, 2005).

As a team, UVa has finished in the top four nine times (1997-2000, 2002, 2005, 2007, 2009-10).

Probable Virginia Lineups:

First Varsity Eight: Coxswain Sidney Thorsten, Keziah Beall, Martha Kuzzy, Kristine O’Brien, Sarah Cowburn, Fiona Schlesinger, Susanne Grainger, Hemingway Benton, Carli Goldberg

Second Varsity Eight: Coxswain Sarah Jordan, Chandler Lally, Elle Murray, Kaitlin Fanikos, Brandy Herald, Liza Tullis, MacKenzie Leahy, Sarah Borchlet, Morgan Joseph

Varsity Four: Coxswain Cristine Candland, Ruth Retzinger, Hunter Terry, Chelsea Simpson, Carolyn Glandorf

Print Friendly Version