Story Links

Oct. 14, 2012

Johnson City, Tenn. – The Virginia men’s golf team finished fifth at the 13-team Bank of Tennessee Intercollegiate held in Johnson City, Tenn. The Cavaliers shot 3-over 291 during Sunday’s final round for a three-day total of 3-under 861. Virginia finished four shots behind tournament champion Missouri. The Tigers won by a single-stroke at 7-under 857.

It marked the fourth consecutive year Virginia has placed in the top five of the tournament.

Senior Mac McLaughlin recorded the second top-10 finish during his career to lead Virginia with a sixth-place performance. He shot even par 72 Sunday for a 54-hold total of 4-under 212, matching his best collegiate tournament score.

Denny McCarthy placed 17th for UVa at 1-over 217. He also posted a final round score of 72. David Pastore shot 73 during the final round and was 23rd at 218. Ji Soo Park finished in 29th place at 3-over 219. Nick Tremps was 63rd at 227. Nick McLaughlin, playing as a non-scoring individual, was also 29th at 219.

Memphis’ Grant Milner took medalist honors at 10-under 206.

The Cavaliers wrap up the fall portion of their schedule next weekend at the U.S. Collegiate in Atlanta.

Bank of Tennessee Intercollegiate
Blackthorn Club at the Ridges
Johnson City, Tenn.
Par-72, 7,147 yards
Final Results

Team Results

1. Missouri 285-286-286-857 2. Tennessee 280-287-291-858 3. UNC Wilmington 289-289-281-859 4. Memphis 280-291-289-860 5. Virginia 284-286-291-861 6. Wake Forest 285-290-287-862 6. Coastal Carolina 291-282-289-862 8. Virginia Tech 289-283-297-869 9. East Tennessee State 288-297-287-87210. Penn State 294-296-289-87911. Army 289-300-292-88112. Furman 302-293-293-88813. Pepperdine 295-291-304-890

Individual Leaders1. Grant Milner, Memphis 67-67-72-2062. Evan Beck, Wake Forest 70-69-69-2083. Emilio Cuartero, Missouri 71-70-69-2104. Payne McLeod, UNC Wilmington 71-73-67-2114. Rick Lamb, Tennessee 67-73-71-2116. Roberto Ballesteros, Coastal Carolina 73-68-71-2126. Mac McLaughlin, Virginia 72-68-72-212

Virginia Results 6. Mac McLaughlin 72-68-72-21217. Denny McCarthy 75-70-72-21723. David Pastore 70-75-73-21829. Nick McLaughlin* 72-72-75-21929. Ji Soo Park 71-73-75-21963. Nick Tremps 71-82-74-227* Competed as a non-scoring individual

Print Friendly Version