Story Links

Oct. 31, 2012

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Four Cavaliers were honored on Wednesday as part of the 2012 Field Hockey All-ACC team, as announced today by ACC Commissioner John Swofford. Paige Selenski, Michelle Vittese, Elly Buckley, and Jenny Johnstone were all named to the 17-athlete team.

Paige Selenski (R-Sr., Shavertown, Pa.) and North Carolina’s Kelsey Kolojejchick both have been named to the All-ACC squad four times, just the eighth and ninth players in the 30-year history of ACC field hockey to be four-time honorees.

Selenski leads the ACC in six different statistical categories including shots (108), shots-per-game (6.0), points (62), points-per-game (3.44), goals (25), and game-winning goals (7).

Michelle Vittese (R-Sr., Cherry Hill, N.J.) earned her third All-ACC honor. Vittese is eighth in the ACC with seven assists. She was named the ACC Player of the Week on Oct. 2 after scoring four unassisted goals in a pair of wins over Maryland and Saint Joseph’s.

Elly Buckley (Jr., Scarborough Perth, Australia) also earned her third All-ACC honor. The defender is second on the team in scoring with 15 goals (third in the ACC) and 37 points (fourth in the ACC). She leads the ACC with four defensive saves this season.

Goalkeeper Jenny Johnstone (So., Paisley, Scotland) leads the ACC in save percentage (75.9 percent) and is second with a 1.42 goals-against average. This is Johnstone’s first All-ACC honor.

All four players had been named to the preseason All-ACC team.

All six of the league’s teams are represented on the All-ACC squad, led by five student-athletes from top-ranked North Carolina, four from No. 6 Virginia, and three from No. 7 Maryland. Wake Forest and Duke had two student-athletes recognized, followed by Boston College with one.

The 2012 ACC Field Hockey Championship gets under way Thursday in Chapel Hill, N.C. Thursday’s quarterfinals and Friday’s semifinals start at 1 and 3:30 p.m., and Sunday’s final is scheduled for 1 p.m. The Cavaliers, who earned a first round bye for the first time since 1998, will play in the semifinals on Friday, Nov. 2 at 3:30 p.m. against the winner of sixth-seeded Duke and third-seeded Maryland.

2012 All-ACC Field Hockey Team

Emma Plasteras 	So. 	M 	Boston CollegeEmmie Le Marchand @ 	Jr. 	M/F 	DukePaula Heimbach   	Jr. 	D 	DukeHarriet Tibble # 	Sr. 	D 	MarylandJill Witmer #   	Jr. 	F 	MarylandMegan Frazer # 	        Sr. 	M 	MarylandCaitlin Van Sickle # 	Sr. 	B 	North CarolinaCharlotte Craddock 	So. 	F 	North CarolinaEmily Wold 	        Fr. 	M/B 	North CarolinaKatie Ardrey @ 	        Sr. 	F 	North CarolinaKelsey Kolojejchick % 	Sr. 	M 	North CarolinaElly Buckley # 	        Jr. 	B 	VirginiaJenny Johnstone 	So. 	GK 	VirginiaMichelle Vittese # 	RSr. 	M 	VirginiaPaige Selenski % 	RSr. 	F 	VirginiaAnna Kozniuk @ 	        So. 	B/M 	Wake ForestLizzie Rae # 	        Sr. 	M/F 	Wake Forest@ - Two-time selection# - Three-time selection% - Four-time selection
Print Friendly Version