Story Links

Feb. 22, 2013

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2013 Tewaaraton Award women’s watch list which includes Virginia women’s lacrosse senior defender Megan Dunleavy and senior goalie Kim Kolarik.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of top collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation. Committees will make additions to these lists as the season progresses and athletes earn a spot alongside these elite players. Both lists will be narrowed to 25 men’s and women’s nominees in late April. In mid-May, five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced. These finalists will be invited to Washington, D.C. for the 13th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony, May 30 at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian.

The lists include the top players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlight the early contenders for the 2013 Tewaaraton Award. Twelve ACC athletes are included on the list.

Dunleavy, a co-captian for this year’s team, anchors a defense that ranked 25th among all NCAA Division I teams last season, allowing 10.0 goals per game. Kolarik played in 18 of Virginia’s 19 games last season, registering a .405 save percentage.

Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora. While 2013 is The Year of the Mohawk, the men’s watch list includes three members of the Onondaga Nation in Lyle, Miles and Ty Thompson from Albany.

2013 Tewaaraton Award women’s watch list

Casey Ancarrow, James Madison - Sr., AAlex Aust, Maryland - Sr., ACourtney Bennett, Dartmouth - Sr., DBecca Block, Syracuse - Sr., DKatie Bollhorst, Salisbury - Sr., AKara Cannizzaro, North Carolina - Sr., MTatum Coffey, Penn State - Soph., MDemmianne Cook, Stony Brook - Sr., MKitty Cullen, Florida - Sr., ATaylor D'Amore, Johns Hopkins - Jr., ABrittany Dashiell, Florida - Sr., MAlexa Demski, Towson - Sr., DJasmine DePompeo, Navy - Sr., AMaria Di Fato, Cortland - Sr., MTori Dugan, West Chester - Sr., AMegan Dunleavy, Virginia - Sr., DDanielle Etrasco, Boston University - Sr., ASam Farrell, Florida - Sr., DKatie Ferris, Massachusetts - Jr., ACaitlin Fifield, Richmond - Sr., AErin Fitzgerald, Northwestern - Sr., AEmily Garrity, North Carolina - Sr., MKristin Giovanniello, Dartmouth - Jr., GKAnna Kim, Stanford - Jr., MKim Kolarik, Virginia - Sr., GKTayler Kuzma, Ohio State - Jr., DAlyssa Leonard, Northwestern - Jr., MMegan Leonhard, Trinity - Sr., MLauren Maksym, North Carolina - Sr., GKKelly McPartland, Maryland - Soph., MMikey Meagher, Florida - Sr., GKMaddy Morrissey, Duke - Jr., MLyndsey Munoz, Stanford - Jr., GKAlyssa Murray, Syracuse - Jr., AAriana Parker, Albany - Jr., MMarlee Paton, Loyola - Jr., MClaire Petersen, Stony Brook - Sr., AMaddie Poplawski, Penn - Sr., MCaroline Salisbury, Cornell - Sr., AIliana Sanza, Maryland - Sr., DKatie Schwarzmann, Maryland - Sr., MJaclyn Sileo, LIU-Post - Jr., AMargaret Smith, Notre Dame - Jr., MCovie Stanwick, Boston College - Soph., ABarbara Sullivan, Notre Dame - Soph., DMegan Takacs, Cal - Sr., ASophia Thomas, Georgetown - Sr., MTaylor Thornton, Northwestern - Sr., MMichelle Tumolo, Syracuse - Sr., ATaylor Virden, Duke - Jr.  
Print Friendly Version