Story Links

May 12, 2013

ACC Championship Central
Become a Fan of Virginia Rowing on Facebook
Follow Virginia Rowing on Twitter

CLEMSON, S.C.—The No. 6 Virginia rowing team swept all four races en route to its fourth consecutive Atlantic Coast Conference Championship Sunday morning (May 12) on Lake Hartwell in Clemson, S.C. It is the 13th conference crown in 14 years for the Cavaliers, who have automatically qualified for the NCAA Championships, to be held May 31-June 2 in Indianapolis, Ind.

UVa head coach Kevin Sauer was named ACC Coach of the Year for the ninth time and fourth year in a row. Virginia’s top boat, the Varsity Eight was named ACC Crew of the Year, the 11th Cavalier crew to earn the honor. The V8 consisted of junior coxswain Sarah Jordan, junior Constanze Duell, sophomore Chandler Lally, senior Kristine O’Brien, graduate student Sarah Cowburn, junior Fiona Schlesinger, senior Susanne Grainger, junior Elle Murray and sophomore Lizzy Youngling.

Cowburn, Grainger, Jordan, O’Brien and Schlesinger were all named to the All-ACC squad. O’Brien was honored for the third consecutive year, while Cowburn was recognized for the second season in a row.

“It was a great day for UVa rowing,” Sauer said. “We are very happy that we earned the automatic qualifying spot to the NCAA Championships from the ACC. Many thanks to Robbie Tenenbaum, Melanie Onufrieff and all the Clemson staff that did such a great job hosting the championship.”

By way of winning the four races, the Cavaliers finished with 60 points. Clemson was second with 43 points, followed by Duke (41), Miami (27), Boston College (23) and North Carolina (16).

Facing a strong crosswind, the UVa Varsity Eight claimed first in a time of 6:46.08, well ahead of Duke, who was second in 6:54.35, Clemson, Miami, BC and UNC.

In the Second Varsity Eight, Clemson was within a few seats through the first 500 meters, but Virginia made a strong move and went on to win in open water in 7:05.17. The Tigers were second in 7:11.98, followed by Miami, Duke, BC and UNC.

The UVa Novice Eight won in a time of 7:18.61, ahead of UNC (7:30.24), Clemson (7:33.01), BC, Duke and Miami.

In the first race of the morning, the Cavaliers’ Varsity Four opened up a lead of a boat length by the 500-meter mark and never looked back, crossing the line first in a time of 7:27.16.

The Cavaliers have now won 50 of the 56 races at the ACC Championships, which the conference started in 2000.

On Friday, the UVa Second Varsity Four won an exhibition race against two boats from Duke and a crew from North Carolina.

Virginia Lineup

Varsity Eight: Coxswain Sarah Jordan, Stroke: Constanze Duell, 7: Chandler Lally, 6: Kristine O’Brien, 5: Sarah Cowburn, 4: Fiona Schlesinger, 3: Susanne Grainger, 2: Elle Murray, Bow: Lizzy Youngling

Second Varsity Eight: Coxswain Frear, Stroke: Ann Reid, 7: Maddie Hilbrant, 6: Chelsea Adams, 5: Brandy Herald, 4: Kathryn Cook, 3: Kaitlin Fanikos, 2: Veronica Jones, Bow: Betsy Nilan

Varsity Four: Coxswain Sarah McGovern, Stroke: Hannah Yoest, 3: Kaity McCullough, 2: Caroline Burke, Bow: Tessa Dikkers

Novice Eight: Coxswain Chloe Sykes, Stroke: Anastasia Asher, 7: Kelly Ross, 6: Allie Donini, 5: Brodde Lamb, 4: Brooke Bochonok, 3: Jennifer Reid, 2: Sarah Ianni, Bow: Claire Cundiff

Second Varsity Four (exhibition): Coxswain Alissa Hornung, Stroke: Emily Pik, 3: Kristen Hickman, 2: Catherine Multari, Bow: Nina Vascotto

Print Friendly Version