Story Links

Nov. 26, 2013

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia football players Anthony Harris and Morgan Moses have been named College Award winners by the Touchdown Club of Richmond. Harris has been named the Touchdown Club’s defensive back of the year and Moses takes home offensive lineman of the year honors.

Harris, Moses and 12 other players from colleges in the Commonwealth of Virginia will be honored at the 2013 Dudley/Lanier Award banquet on Wednesday, December 4, at the Hilton Richmond Hotel.

Harris (Chesterfield, Va.) currently leads the nation with eight interceptions and has recorded the most picks by a Cavalier since Ronde Barber led the ACC with eight in 1994. Harris, Barber and Kevin Cook (1987) all share the No. 2 spot in the UVa record book for most interceptions in a season with eight. Against Miami over the weekend, Harris extended his streak to recording at least one interception in five consecutive games (six total during that span). The five-game interception streak is a UVa record.

Moses (Richmond, Va.) has graded out over 90 percent in every game and is averaging eight knockdowns per contest. Moses limited Clemson’s Vic Beasley (Bednarik and Lombardi Award semifinalist), who entered the Week 10 contest No. 1 in the nation in sacks, to one tackle and zero sacks. He did not allow any tackles to Georgia Tech’s Jeremiah Attaochu when matched up. Attaochu is currently No. 4 among active FBS players in career sacks. Moses also helped keep BYU’s Kyle Van Noy in check with only four tackles and zero sacks at UVa. Van Noy (Butkus, Bednarik and Lombardi Award semifinalist) is No. 2 among active FBS players in career sacks.

The Touchdown Club of Richmond also honored Old Dominion’s Taylor Heinicke as the offensive back of the year, Richmond’s Ben Edwards as offensive end/tight end of the year, Virginia Tech’s Derrick Hopkins as the defensive lineman of the year, Virginia Tech’s Jack Tyler the linebacker of the year and Old Dominion’s Jarod Brown as the specialist of the year. Heinicke, Edwards and Hopkins are repeat winners from 2012.

The Dudley Award Banquet is open to the public and will be held Wednesday, December 4, at the Hilton Richmond Hotel, 12042 West Broad Street, 7:30 p.m., with a pre-banquet social at 6:30 p.m. Tickets cost $40.00 each and may be purchased by contacting Rudy Ward, 804.551.0980, or

Also at this event, the Dudley Award and the Lanier Award will be presented to the top collegiate player in the state with the Dudley Award going to a NCAA Division I player and the Lanier Award presented to a player from a NCAA Division II, IIII, NAIA and IUSCAA college. The finalists for each award will be featured in the

Richmond Times-Dispatch on Monday with the winner being announced at the banquet on Dec. 4.

The Dudley Award is named for the late Bill Dudley, an NFL Hall of Famer who starred at Virginia while the Lanier Award is named for Willie Lanier, also an NFL Hall of Famer who graduated from Richmond’s Maggie Walker High School. The Touchdown Club of Richmond is a sports-social organization that serves to promote the best interests of the American game of football and sports in general, under the guidance of elected officers with the predominate purpose being to recognize worthy athletes for their accomplishments and to encourage them to continue their education and athletic careers.

Print Friendly Version