Story Links

Feb. 28, 2014

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2014 Tewaaraton Award women’s watch list, presented by Panama Jack, which includes Virginia women’s lacrosse juniors Casey Bocklet (South Salem, N.Y.), Morgan Stephens (Olney, Md.) and Courtney Swan (Vero Beach, Fla.).

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of top collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

Bocklet, a 2013 IWLCA third-team All-American, earned a spot on the 2014 All-ACC team. Last season, the attacker led the Cavaliers in goals (44), assists (23) and points (67). Bocklet had a strong showing in the postseason, being named to the ACC All-Tournament team after scoring five goals with two assists before going on to log 10 points in the NCAA Tournament, scoring seven goals with three assists, helping to lead the Cavaliers to the quarterfinals.

Stephens, a 2013 IWLCA All-South Region second-team selection, shifted between offense and defense last season, leading the team in ground balls (29) while also adding 24 goals and six assists. Stephens will also be key on the draw, finishing last season ranked sixth in the ACC in draw controls with 52, the seventh-highest single-season total in Virginia program history.

Swan, a 2013 All-ACC honoree, had 83 draw controls last season, the second-highest single-season total in Virginia program history. Her 4.05 draws-per-game average ranked third in the ACC and 21st in the NCAA. Swan has opened the 2014 campaign by leading the team in scoring, posting at least a hat trick in all four games this season.

Players not named to the initial list have several opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. Additions will be announced on March 20 and April 10. On April 24, the field will be narrowed to 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees. Nominees can be players on the watch lists or players not on the watch lists, effectively allowing for a third round of additions for players who earn a spot. Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced on May 8 and will be invited to the May 29 ceremony in Washington.

First presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent.

Women’s Watch List

Bridget Bianco, Northwestern - Jr., GCasey Bocklet, Virginia - Jr., ANikki Boltja, Louisville - Sr., AFrankie Caridi, Stony Brook - Sr., GJackie Cifarelli, Ohio State - Jr., ADevan Crimi, Adelphi - Sr., ATaylor Cummings, Maryland - Soph., MTaylor D'Amore, Johns Hopkins - Sr., ALucy Dikeou, Stanford - Soph., MKelsea Donnelly, Towson - Jr., GKelsey Duryea, Duke - Soph., GLucy Ferguson, Penn - Jr., GKatie Ferris, UMass - Sr., AKelyn Freedman, Georgetown - Sr., MAbbey Friend, North Carolina - Sr., ALoren Generi, Navy - Jr., AErica Geremia, Cortland - Soph., AShannon Gilroy, Florida - Jr., AKristen Giovanniello, Dartmouth - Sr., GBrooke Griffin, Maryland - Jr., AHannah Hook, Denver - Sr., GApril Iannetta, Hofstra - Jr., DLauren Kahn, UConn - Sr., MKelly Lechner, Penn State - Jr., MAlyssa Leonard, Northwestern - Sr., AMeg Markham, Penn - Jr., DKerrin Maurer, Duke - Jr., AMaggie McCormick, Penn State - Jr., AErin McMunn, Princeton - Jr., AKelly McPartland, Maryland - Jr., MAly Messinger, North Carolina - Soph., AKaylin Morissette, Louisville - Soph., MAlyssa Murray, Syracuse - Sr., ARachel Ozer, Stanford - Jr., AJessica Pandolf, Loch Haven - Jr., MMarlee Paton, Loyola - Sr., A/MJill Remenapp, Denver - Jr., AMikaela Rix, Boston College - Jr., MMichelle Rubino, Stony Brook - Jr., MSloane Serpe, North Carolina - Sr., DJaclyn Sileo, LIU Post - Sr., ACovie Stanwick, Boston College - Jr., AMorgan Stephens, Virginia - Jr., MBarb Sullivan, Notre Dame - Jr., DCourtney Swan, Virginia - Jr., ACaroline Tarzian, Georgetown - Jr., AKayla Treanor, Syracuse - Soph., ATaryn VanThof, Loyola - Jr., MTaylor Virden, Duke - Sr., DKatie Webster, Syracuse - Sr., MAshton Wheatley, Salisbury - Sr., G 

For information on attending the Tewaaraton Ceremony on May 29 in Washington, D.C., visit Like and follow the Tewaaraton Foundation on Facebook at and on Twitter at

Print Friendly Version