Story Links

Dec. 8, 2014

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia football players Henry Coley, Eli Harold, Anthony Harris and Ian Frye have been named College Award winners by the Touchdown Club of Richmond. Coley has been named the Touchdown Club’s linebacker of the year, Frye has been named co-specialist of the year, Harold has been named defensive lineman of the year and Harris has been named co-defensive back of the year.

Frye shares his honor with William & Mary’s John Carpenter. Harris, the 2013 Touchdown Club of Richmond’s defensive back of the year repeats the honor and shares the accolade with Virginia Tech’s Kendall Fuller.

Coley, Fye, Harold, Harris and 13 other players from colleges in the Commonwealth of Virginia will be honored at the 2014 Dudley/Lanier Award banquet on Wednesday, December 10, at the Hilton Richmond Hotel.

Coley (Virginia Beach, Va.), a second-team All-ACC honoree, is No. 5 in the ACC with 8.0 sacks and No. 7 in the ACC with 12.5 tackles for loss. Coley was No. 4 on the team with 76 tackles and broke up six passes. Coley finishes his career with 32 career starts in 37 games for the Cavaliers.

Frye (Jr., Bristol, Va.), a second- team All-ACC honoree, finished the season No. 2 all-time at UVa for field goals in a season (22). His 22 made field goals is No. 2 in the ACC and No. 5 nationally. Frye was also named a semifinalist for the Lou Groza Award and was twice named the ACC Specialist of the Week, including after his 42-yard kick elevated UVa over then-No. 21 Louisville. It was the third-longest game-winning kick in school history.

Harold (Jr., Virginia Beach, Va.), a second-team All-ACC honoree, finished the year No. 3 in the ACC with 14.5 tackles for loss and No. 6 in the ACC with 7.0 sacks. He made 54 tackles, forced one fumble and recovered two, including returning one 22 yards for a touchdown against Richmond. Harold also intercepted his second career pass at then-No.2 Florida State.

Harris (Sr., Chesterfield, Va.), a third-team All-ACC honoree, finished the year No. 2 on the team with 108 tackles. No. 2 on the team with 70 tackles on rushing plays for the nation’s No. 21 rush defense (120.7 per game). Harris intercepted two passes to finish his career No. 10 all-time in program history with 11 picks.

The Touchdown Club of Richmond also recognized Old Dominion’s Taylor Heinicke as the offensive back of the year, Richmond’s Austin Gund as the offensive lineman of the year and William & Mary’s Tre McBride as the offensive end/tight end of the year. Heinicke, like Harris, is a repeat winner from 2013.

The Dudley Award Banquet is open to the public and will be held Wednesday, December 10, at the Hilton Richmond Hotel, 12042 West Broad Street, 7:30 p.m. Tickets cost $40.00 each and may be purchased by contacting Ron Axselle at

Also at this event, the Dudley Award and the Lanier Award will be presented to the top collegiate player in the state with the Dudley Award going to a NCAA Division I player and the Lanier Award presented to a player from a NCAA Division II, IIII, NAIA and IUSCAA college. The finalists for each award are featured today in the

Richmond Times-Dispatch the winner being announced at the banquet on Dec. 10.

The Dudley Award is named for the late Bill Dudley, an NFL Hall of Famer who starred at Virginia while the Lanier Award is named for Willie Lanier, also an NFL Hall of Famer who graduated from Richmond’s Maggie Walker High School. The Touchdown Club of Richmond is a sports-social organization that serves to promote the best interests of the American game of football and sports in general, under the guidance of elected officers with the predominate purpose being to recognize worthy athletes for their accomplishments and to encourage them to continue their education and athletic careers.

Print Friendly Version