Story Links

March 19, 2015

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the first round of additions to the 2015 Tewaaraton Trophy Watch List and Virginia junior midfielder Greg Coholan is one of 11 men’s lacrosse players added today.

Coholan (Rochester, N.Y.) leads UVa with 18 goals and is second on the team with 23 points. Coholan was named the ACC Offensive Player of the Week after scoring four goals and dishing one assist in the season-opening win (13-12) at No. 7 Loyola. The captain joins James Pannell, Ryan Tucker and Zed Williams on the watch list. Pannell is out the remainder of the season with a knee injury.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of top collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

Virginia has three different former players that have won the prestigious trophy, the most in the award’s history that dates back to 2001. Chris Rotelli (2003), Matt Ward (2006) and Steele Stanwick (2011) represent UVa’s Tewaaraton winners, all earning the trophy in a season the Cavaliers won the NCAA title. Overall UVa has had 10 Tewaaraton Trophy finalists, which ranks No. 2 all-time among schools and one finalist behind Syracuse (11).

Players not named to the initial list have several opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. One more addition to the list will be made on April 9. On April 23, the field will be narrowed to 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees. Nominees can be players on the watch lists or players not on the watch lists, effectively allowing for a third round of additions for players who earn a spot. Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced on May 7 and will be invited to the May 28 ceremony in Washington.

The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent.

Print Friendly Version