Story Links

March 30, 2015

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Virginia’s Malcolm Brogdon (Atlanta, Ga.) and Justin Anderson (Montross, Va.) have earned All-America honors from the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC), the organization announced Monday (March 30).

Brogdon was named to the NABC All-America Second Team, while Anderson earned a spot on the NABC All-America Third Team. Brogdon and Anderson become the first Virginia teammates to earn All-America honors in the same season since Ralph Sampson and Jeff Lamp were honored by several organizations in 1981. Brogdon and Anderson also become the first Cavaliers to earn NABC All-America honors since Sean Singletary in 2007. In addition, Virginia joined Kentucky and Gonzaga as the only teams with multiple honorees.

Brogdon led the Cavaliers in scoring at 14 points per game and free throw percentage at 87.9 percent. He scored in double figures in 27 games, including five 20-point games, highlighted by a career-high 25 points against North Carolina in the ACC Tournament semifinals. Brogdon has also earned USBWA All-America second-team honors and All-ACC first-team honors from the media and coaches.

Anderson earns his first All-America honor despite missing eight games of the season due to a fractured finger suffered on Feb. 7 and an appendectomy on March 5. He was second on the team in scoring at 12.2 points per game and was leading the ACC in 3-point percentage at 48.4 percent before he was injured.

Brogdon and Anderson helped Virginia to a school-record tying 30 wins and its second consecutive ACC regular-season title. The Cavaliers earned a No. 2 seed in the NCAA Tournament and advanced to the third round.

NABC All-America First Team
Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky
Jerian Grant, Notre Dame
Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin
Jahlil Okafor, Duke
D’Angelo Russell, Ohio State

NABC All-America Second Team
Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia
Karl-Anthony Towns, Kentucky
Seth Tuttle, Northern Iowa
Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga
Delon Wright, Utah

NABC All-America Third Team
Justin Anderson, Virginia
Buddy Hield, Oklahoma
Stanley Johnson, Arizona
Georges Niang, Iowa State
Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga

Print Friendly Version