Story Links

Twitter: @UVaWomensTennis  | Coach Guilbeau Twitter  | Facebook

April 22, 2015

CARY, N.C. – A trio of Virginia student-athletes earned All-Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Tennis honors, the ACC announced Wednesday (April 22).

Juniors Julia Elbaba (Oyster Bay, N.Y.) and Danielle Collins (St. Petersburg, Fla.) were named to the first team, while junior Stephanie Nauta (Galveston, Texas) was named to the second team. Elbaba and Nauta each earn their third All-ACC honor, tying a school record held by Alison Cohen (1994-96) and Lindsey Hardenbergh (2010-12).

Elbaba, who is ranked No. 5 in the latest ITA singles rankings, earns All-ACC honors for the third consecutive season after posting a 14-4 dual record and 10-3 mark in ACC action. Elbaba earned UVa’s first No. 1 ranking earlier this season.

Collins, who won the NCAA singles title last season, earns All-ACC First-Team honors for the second straight year. Collins has posted a 16-4 dual record, including a team-leading 12-2 mark in ACC action. Collins is ranked No. 19 in the latest ITA singles rankings.

Nauta earns her third straight All-ACC honor after posting a 14-7 dual record. Nauta, who has a team-leading 29 singles wins, is ranked No. 36 in the latest ITA singles rankings.

No. 4 seed Virginia (18-5, 11-3 ACC) plays No. 5 seed Clemson (15-8, 10-4 ACC), No. 12 seed Syracuse (8-12, 3-11 ACC) or No. 13 seed Louisville (8-12, 2-12 ACC) in the ACC Championship quarterfinals on Friday (April 24) at Cary Tennis Park. First serve is set for 3 p.m.

Live scoring for all of Virginia’s matches in the championship will be available at

Individual Award Winners
Player of the Year – Jamie Loeb, So., North Carolina
Freshman of the Year – Sinead Lohan, Miami
Coach of the Year – Brian Kalbas, North Carolina

All-ACC First Team
Jamie Loeb @, So., North Carolina
Hayley Carter @, So., North Carolina
Julia Elbaba #, Jr., Virginia
Stephanie Wagner #, Jr., Miami
Romy Koelzer @, Sr., Clemson
Danielle Collins @, Jr., Virginia
Joana Eidukonyte, Jr., Clemson
Beatrice Capra #, Jr., Duke
Caroline Price #, Sr., North Carolina

All-ACC Second Team
Sinead Lohan, Fr., Miami
Ester Goldfeld !, Sr., Duke
Ilinca Stoica @, Jr., Virginia Tech
Quinn Gleason, Jr., Notre Dame
Paige Hourigan, Fr., Georgia Tech
Beatrice Gumulya #, Sr., Clemson
Stephanie Nauta #, Jr., Virginia
Johnnise Renaud, Fr., Georgia Tech
Francesca Fusinato @, So., Virginia Tech

All-ACC Third Team
Jessica Wacnik @, Sr., Boston College
Daneika Borthwick #, Sr., Florida State
Samantha Harris, Fr., Duke
Amanda Rodgers, Sr., Syracuse
Jessy Rompies, Sr., Clemson
Monica Robinson, So., Notre Dame
Kimmy Guerin, So., Wake Forest
Asiya Dair, Fr., Boston College
Gabriella Castaneda, Fr., Florida State

@ – Two-time honoree
# – Three-time honoree
! – Four-time honoree

Print Friendly Version

" "