Story Links

April 22, 2015

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia senior attacker Casey Bocklet (South Salem, N.Y.) and senior defender Morgan Stephens (Olney, Md.) were named to the 13-member 2015 All-ACC Women’s Lacrosse First Team, as announced today by the conference office. Senior attacker Courtney Swan (Vero Beach, Fla.) was named to the 13-player second team in honors determined by a vote of the league’s eight head coaches.

Bocklet, who has been named the ACC Offensive Player of the Week three times this season, leads the team with 64 points, scoring 38 goals with 26 assists. Bocklet ranks fourth in the ACC in points per game (4.00) and third in assists per game (1.63). Bocklet, a 2013 IWLCA Third-Team All-American, is tied for seventh on the Virginia all-time assists list with 76 and is one point away from ranking in the program’s top-10 in career points. This is the first All-ACC postseason honor for Bocklet.

Stephens, a member of the 2014-15 U.S. Women’s National Team, has started every game for the Cavaliers this season, causing 12 turnovers, picking up 17 ground balls and winning 30 draw controls. Stephens was the lone Cavalier to be named to this year’s preseason All-ACC team after garnering IWLCA Second Team All-America and Second Team All-ACC honors last season.

Swan, a member of the 2014-15 U.S. Women’s National Team, leads the ACC and is ranked ninth in the nation in assists with 32 this season. Swan currently ranks second in program history with 263 career draw controls and is third in the ACC and 13th in the nation in draws this season, averaging 4.75 per game. Swan, who was named the Inside Lacrosse National Player of the Week on March 3, ranks ninth in program history with 72 career assists. Last season, Swan earned IWLCA Second Team All-America and a Second Team All-ACC honos last season.

The Virginia women’s lacrosse team (11-5, 4-3 ACC), the No. 4 seed in the 2015 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Lacrosse Championships, will take on No. 5 seed, Notre Dame (9-7, 3-4 ACC), in the quarterfinals on Thursday, April 23 at 1 p.m. at Klöckner Stadium in Charlottesville, Va.

The Cavaliers are hosting the ACC tournament for the first time since 2008, with all three rounds taking place at Klöckner Stadium from April 23-26. All seven games of the tournament will be televised on the ACC’s Regional Sports Network (RSN). All-session tickets for the ACC Tournament are $14 for reserved seats, $10 for general admission adult tickets and $8 for students and seniors. Single-session tickets are $7 for reserved seats, $5 for general admission adult tickets and $4 for students and seniors.

First Team All-ACC
Sarah Mannelly, Jr., M, Boston College
Mikaela Rix, Sr., M, Boston College
Covie Stanwick, Sr., A, Boston College
Kerrin Maurer, Sr., A, Duke
Kay Morissette, Jr., M, Louisville
Courtney Waite, Sr., D, North Carolina
Caylee Waters, So., G, North Carolina
Barbara Sullivan, Sr., D, Notre Dame
Halle Majorana, Jr., M, Syracuse
Kayla Treanor, Jr., A, Syracuse
Casey Bocklet, Sr., A, Virginia
Morgan Stephens, Sr., D, Virginia
Megan Will, Sr., A, Virginia Tech
*due to a tie in voting an extra member was added to the team

Second Team All-ACC
Caroline Margolis, Jr., M, Boston College
Kelsey Duryea, Sr., G, Duke
Claire Scarrone, Jr., D, Duke
Katie Trees, Sr., M, Duke
Taylor Trimble, Sr., M, Duke
Maggie Bill, So., M, North Carolina
Margaret Corzel, Sr., D, North Carolina
Molly Hendrick, So., A, North Carolina
Caileigh Sindall, S., D, North Carolina
Sammy Jo Tracy, Jr. A, North Carolina
Cortney Fortunato, So., A, Notre Dame
Kailah Kempney, Sr., A, Syracuse
Courtney Swan, Sr., A, Virginia
*due to a tie in voting an extra member was added to the team

Print Friendly Version