Story Links

April 27, 2015

Charlottesville, Va. – The No. 9 Virginia women’s golf team is a No. 3 seed in the NCAA Regional site that will be held at Entrada at Snow Canyon Country Club in St. George, Utah. BYU will serve as the host institution.

The 54-hole regional championship takes place May 7-9. It marks the 11th straight year Virginia has received a bid to the NCAA Championships. The Cavaliers earned the Atlantic Coast Conference’s automatic berth into the field after winning the league title.

Virginia will be looking to advance to the NCAA Championships for the eighth time in the program’s 12-year history.

“We are excited to be a three seed and excited to be going to play in Utah,” said Virginia coach Kim Lewellen. “The team played very well down the stretch, winning our last two tournaments including the ACCs, so the team has put itself into a good position as we prepare for the regional.”

The top six schools from each of four 18-team regional sites will advance to the NCAA Championships along with the top three individuals not advancing from a team from each site. The NCAA Championships are scheduled for May 22-27 at the Concession Golf Club in Bradenton, Fla.

Virginia is one of nine ACC teams to receive an invitation to this year’s national championship. Also qualifying were Duke, Florida State, Louisville, Miami, NC State, North Carolina, Notre Dame and Wake Forest. The nine selections equals the most ever for the ACC, matching the total for last season.

Raleigh, N.C. Regional
The Raleigh Regional will be played at Lonnie Poole Golf Course in Raleigh, N.C. NC State will serve as the host institution.

Participating Schools: 1. South Carolina, 2. LSU, 3. Mississippi State, 4. Northwestern, 5. Florida, 6. UCF, 7. Furman, 8. Alabama, 9. Iowa State, 10. Ohio State, 11. NC State, 12. GRU Augusta, 13. Coastal Carolina, 14. Campbell, 15. College of Charleston, 16. Seton Hall, 17. Wichita State, 18. Fairleigh Dickinson

South Bend, Indiana
The South Bend Regional will be played at Warren Golf Course in South Bend, Ind. Notre Dame will serve as the host institution.

Participating Schools: 1. Arizona, 2. Duke, 3. Oklahoma State, 4. Wake Forest, 5. UC Davis, 6. Pepperdine, 7. Tulane, 8. Notre Dame, 9. Purdue, 10. Kent State, 11. Louisville, 12. San Jose State, 13. North Carolina, 14. Kentucky, 15. Harvard, 16. Troy, 17. Eastern Kentucky, 18. Youngstown State

San Antonio Regional
The San Antonio Regional will be played at Briggs Ranch Golf Club in San Antonio, Texas. UTSA will serve as the host institution.

Participating Schools: 1. UCLA, 2. Washington, 3. Texas A&M, 4. Tennessee, 5. Arizona State, 6. Baylor, 7. Oregon, 8. Florida State, 9. Auburn, 10. Texas Tech, 11. Texas, 12. Houston, 13. Gonzaga, 14. Oklahoma, 15. Kennesaw State, 16. Lamar, 17. Boston Univ.

St. George, Utah Regional
The St. George Regional will be played at Entrada at Snow Canyon Country Club in St. George, Utah. BYU will serve as the host institution.

Participating Schools: 1. USC, 2. Arkansas, 3. Virginia, 4. Stanford, 5. Vanderbilt, 6. UNLV, 7. San Diego State, 8. Miami, 9. Colorado, 10. California, 11. SMU, 12. TCU, 13. Denver, 14. Wisconsin, 15. Middle Tennessee State, 16. New Mexico State, 17. Northern Arizona, 18. Albany

Following the regional tournaments, the NCAA Championships will feature a new format this year. All 24 teams and 12 individuals will complete 54 holes of stroke play. Following 54 holes of competition, the top 15 teams along with the top nine individuals not on an advancing team will advance for one additional day of stroke play to determine the top eight teams for match play competition and the 72-hole stroke play individual champion.

The top eight teams after 72 holes of play will be placed into a bracket with the No. 1 seed playing the No. 8 seed, the No. 2 seed playing the No. 7 seed, the No. 3 seed playing the No. 6 seed and the No. 4 seed playing the No. 5 seed in match play. Ties for the top 15 and top eight teams as well as the top nine individuals will be broken by a sudden-death playoff or, if necessary, by the non sudden-death tiebreaking procedure.

Print Friendly Version

" "