Story Links

April 29, 2015

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Malcolm Brogdon (men’s basketball) and Morgan Brian (women’s soccer) were honored as Virginia’s top male and female athletes for the 2014-15 academic year at UVa’s annual awards dinner on Wednesday (April 29) at John Paul Jones Arena. Brogdon earned the WINA Award as the top male athlete, while Brian garnered the IMP Award as the top female athlete for the second consecutive season.

Brogdon led Virginia to its second consecutive ACC regular-season title and the Cavaliers matched a school record with 30 wins. Brogdon earned consensus second-team All-America honors after leading the Cavaliers in scoring at 14 points per game and free throw percentage at 87.9 percent. He scored in double figures in 27 games, including five 20-point games, highlighted by a career-high 25 points against North Carolina in the ACC Tournament semifinals. Brogdon earned first-team All-ACC accolades for the second straight season as the Cavaliers earned a No. 2 seed in the NCAA Tournament and advanced to the third round.

Brian is the third consecutive women’s soccer player to claim UVa’s top female award and first UVa student-athlete to claim back-to-back honors since Amy Appelt (lacrosse) in 2004-05. In 2014-15, Brian became the fourth woman to repeat as the recipient of the MAC Hermann Trophy as national player of the year after tallying 10 goals and 14 assists during her senior season. Brian led the Cavaliers to their second consecutive NCAA College Cup as Virginia advanced to the championship game. Brian was a three-time NSCAA First-Team All-American and four-time first-team All-ACC selection. With 41 career goals and 43 career assists, Brian is the first Cavalier to be a member of the 40-40 club and ranks second in school history with 125 career points.

Brian has made 26 appearances for the United States Women’s National Team, scoring four goals, and was named to the roster for the 2015 FIFA World Cup in Canada. She was the overall No. 1 selection by the Houston Dash in the 2015 National Women’s Soccer League Draft and made her professional debut with the club in April.

Football player Alec Vozenilek (Richmond, Va.) earned the Ernest H. Ern, Jr. Award for outstanding contributions to student life at Virginia, while Tessa Dikkers (Pelham, N.Y.) of rowing was the recipient of the Ralph Sampson Scholarship Award. Emily Sonnett (Marietta, Ga.) of the women’s soccer team received the Virginia Athletics Department’s Distinguished Student-Athlete Scholarship Award.

Faculty Athletics Representative Carolyn M. Callahan earned the Bus Male Memorial Service Award for his years of service to the athletics department. Jennifer Johnstone (Paisley, Scotland) of the field hockey team received the Craig Fielder Memorial Award for overcoming adversity and cheer team member Megan Maddox earned the Life Skills Scholarship Award.

Sean Knightly (Charlottesville, Va.) was the recipient of the Bob Goodman Memorial Award for his service to Virginia athletics as a team manager and Ryland Richardson (Newport News, Va.) of the wrestling program received the Tim Abbott Memorial Award for the second consecutive year as the student assistant trainer most dedicated to and possessing empathy for the student-athletes.

Nick Sulzer (Cleveland, Ohio) of the wrestling team and Courtney Swan (Vero Beach, Fla.) of the women’s lacrosse team received Virginia’s ACC Scholar-Athlete Awards. Wrestler Derek Papagianopolous (Burlington, Mass.) earned the Susan J. Grossman Memorial Award in recognition of outstanding service to student-athletes and contributions to the Student-Athlete Mentor Program.

Alison Haulsee (Glen Allen, Va.) of the women’s swimming and diving team received the Jettie Hill Memorial Award as the fourth-year female student-athlete with the highest scholastic average through her four years at Virginia, while Ed Schrom (Harrisburg, Pa.) of the men’s track and field and cross country programs garnered the Gus Tebell Memorial Award as the fourth-year male student-athlete with the highest scholastic average through his four years at Virginia.

Virginia’s ACC Top VI Award recipients included Morgan Blair (Long Valley, N.J., volleyball), Sydney Umeri (Acworth, Ga., women’s basketball), Heidi Velk (Murrieta, Calif., softball), Zach Wood (Aurora, Ill., men’s lacrosse), Papagianopolous (wrestling) and Vozenilek (football).

Team Awards
Baseball – Billy Word Memorial Award – TBA
Men’s Basketball – Sidney Young Memorial Award – Maleek Frazier and Rob Vozenilek
Women’s Basketball – Coaches Award for Excellence – Sarah Beth Barnette
Men’s Cross Country – Coaches Award for Excellence – Zach Herriott
Women’s Cross Country – Coaches Award for Excellence – Morgan Kelly
Field Hockey – Coaches Award for Excellence – Jennifer Johnstone
Football – John Acree Memorial Award – Miles Gooch
Men’s Golf – F. Dixon Brooke Memorial Award – Derek Bard
Women’s Golf – William C. Eacho Memorial Award – Briana Mao
Men’s Lacrosse – Henry Gaver Memorial Award – TBA
Women’s Lacrosse – Coaches Award for Excellence – Casey Bocklet
Rowing – Coaches Award for Excellence – TBA
Men’s Soccer – Stanley Lerner Memorial Award – Matt Mills
Women’s Soccer – Coaches Award for Excellence – Danielle Colaprico
Softball – Coaches Award for Excellence – TBA
Men’s Swimming & Diving – Brooke Maury Memorial Award – Eric Holden
Women’s Swimming & Diving – Diane Montgomery Greene Memorial Award – Emily Dicus
Men’s Tennis – Norton Pritchett Memorial Award – Mitchell Frank
Women’s Tennis – Coaches Award for Excellence – TBA
Men’s Track & Field – Henry Cummings Memorial Award – TBA
Women’s Track & Field – Z Society – The Lou Onesty Memorial Award – TBA
Volleyball – Coaches Award for Excellence – Natalie Bausback
Wrestling – David Senft Memorial Award – Nick Sulzer

Print Friendly Version

" "