Story Links

June 22, 2015

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia senior Courtney Swan (Vero Beach, Fla.) has been named the 2015 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year and headlines the All-ACC Academic Women’s Lacrosse Team, as announced Monday by Commissioner John Swofford.

Swan was also one of five Cavaliers to be named to All-ACC Women’s Lacrosse Academic Team along with junior Kelly Boyd (Baltimore, Md.), senior Liza Blue (Butler, Md.), senior Kelsey Gahan (Cockeysville, Md.) and freshman Rachel Vander Kolk (Severna Park, Md.). It was Blue’s fourth time earning the accolade.

Swan, an IWLCA Second Team All-American and a Third Team Capital One Academic All-American, led the ACC in assists per game (1.84), ranked fourth in draw controls (4.47) and ninth in points per game (3.47). The All-ACC Second Team member and Tewaaraton Trophy nominee was also the recipient of a prestigious Weaver-James-Corrigan ACC Postgraduate Scholarship this season and the Virginia Athletic Department’s ACC Scholar Award presented annually to one male and one female student-athlete based on academic excellence and performance with distinction as a member of a varsity team.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic Team, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career and be voted onto the team.

Print Friendly Version